Skip to main content

SoBigData: Social Mining & Big Data Ecosystem

This increasing wealth of data is a chance to disentangle social complexity and face the challenges of our world. SoBigData aims at providing an integrated ecosystem of several established national infrastructures for ethic-sensitive scientific discoveries and advanced applications of social data mining on the various dimensions of social life.

Description

Motivation

Multiple dimensions of our social life have “big data” proxies: our desires, opinions and sentiments leave their traces in our web pages, social media, query logs; our social links leave their traces in the network of our phone or email contacts and in social networks; our movements leave their traces in the records of our phone calls and GPS tracks. This increasing wealth of data is a chance to disentangle social complexity and face the challenges of our world, provided we can rely on social data mining, i.e., adequate means for accessing big data and extracting useful knowledge from them.

 

Challenges  & Highlights

SoBigData aims at creating the Social Mining & Big Data Ecosystem: a research infrastructure providing an integrated ecosystem for ethic-sensitive scientific discoveries and advanced applications of social data mining on the various dimensions of social life. Building on several established national infrastructures, SoBigData will open up new research avenues in multiple research fields, including mathematics, ICT, and human, social and economic sciences, by enabling easy comparison, re-use and integration of state-of-the-art big social data, methods, and services, into new research. It will create a pan-European, inter-disciplinary community of social data scientists, fostered by extensive training, networking, and innovation activities. In addition, as an open research infrastructure, SoBigData will promote repeatable and open science.

 

Potential applications & future issues

Although SoBigData is primarily aimed at serving the needs of researchers, the openly available datasets and open source methods and services provided by the new research infrastructure will also impact industrial and other stakeholders (e.g. government bodies, non-profit organizations, funders, policy makers).

 

This work is supported by the European Community’s H2020 Program under the scheme ‘INFRAIA-1-2014-2015: Research Infrastructures’, grant agreement #654024 ‘SoBigData: Social Mining & Big Data Ecosystem’
 

Team
Research area
Intelligent Access to Information
Begin
End

Direkt zum Inhalt

SoBigData: Social Mining & Big Data Ecosystem

Die zunehmende Fülle an Daten ist eine Chance die soziale Komplexität zu entflechten und die Herausforderungen der Welt zu adressieren. SoBigData hat die Erstellung eines Social Mining & Big Data Ökosystems zum Ziel, d.h. eine Forschungsinfrastruktur als integriertes Ökosystem für ethisch-sensitive Exploration und die erweiterte Anwendung von Social Mining in den unterschiedlichen Dimensionen des sozialen Lebens.

Beschreibung

Motivation

Verschiedene Dimensionen des sozialen Lebens haben ihre Abbildung in “Big Data”:  Unsere Wünsche, Meinungen und Stimmungen hinterlassen ihre Spuren auf Web Seiten, sozialen Medien und Suchprotokollen; unsere soziale Vernetzung spiegelt sich in unseren Kontakten und sozialen Netzwerken wieder; unsere Bewegungen hinterlassen Spuren durch Telefon und GPS Verfolgung. Die zunehmende Fülle an Daten ist eine Chance die soziale Komplexität zu entflechten und die Herausforderungen der Welt zu adressieren. Dieses kann nur geschehen, wenn wir uns auf die Methoden des Social Data Mining verlassen können, d.h. ausreichender Zugriff auf Daten und Methoden zur Extraktion von Wissen.

 

Ziel und Ansatz

SoBigData hat die Erstellung eines Social Mining & Big Data Ökosystems zum Ziel, d.h. eine Forschungsinfrastruktur als integriertes Ökosystem für ethisch-sensitive Exploration und die erweiterte Anwendung von Social Mining in den unterschiedlichen Dimensionen des sozialen Lebens. SoBigData basiert auf verschiedenen etablierten nationalen Forschungsinfrastrukturen. Durch die Möglichkeit State-of-the-Art Methoden zu vergleichen, diese wieder zu verwenden und in neue Fragestellungen zu integrieren, öffnet SoBigData neue Forschungspfade in unterschiedlichen Feldern (z.B. Mathematik, Informatik, Humanities, Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften). Das Projekt erstellt eine pan-europäische, interdisziplinäre Gemeinschaft von Social Data Scientists, unterstützt durch extensives Training, Vernetzung und innovative Aktivitäten. Als offene Forschungsinfrastruktur fördert SoBigData wiederholbare und offene Wissenschaft.

 

Potentielle Anwendungen

Auch wenn sich SoBigData in erster Linie an den Bedürfnissen von Forschern orientiert, hat die öffentliche Verfügbarkeit von Daten, Methoden und Dienste auch eine Einfluss auf die Industrie und andere Interessengruppen (z.B. Regierungsstellen, gemeinnützigen Organisationen, Geldgeber, Politiker).

 

Die Arbeiten werden durch die Europäischen Union im Forschungsrahmenprogramm H2020 im Bereich ‘INFRAIA-1-2014-2015: Research Infrastructures’, Grant Agreement #654024 ‘SoBigData: Social Mining & Big Data Ecosystem’ unterstützt.  

Team
Research area
Intelligent Access to Information
Begin
End