Skip to main content

In the context of this funding project with the Fashion Tech Start-Up Dresslife, a system is designed, that aims to solve the problem of low conversions and high return rates in fashion e-commerce. By applying deeplearning methods, the information asymmetry of customer, product assortment and company will be reduced. In addition, the technological solution improves the environmental impact of global fashion e-commerce because the avoidable returns cause CO2 emissions.

One of the biggest cost drivers in fashion eCommerce is return shipments - and processing costs due to a high rate of returns, because buyers either do not like the clothes they have ordered or they do not match their personal taste. The ordered goods are sent back and return rates of up to 80% occur. When the returned goods arrive at the company, the package is unpacked by the employees, the condition of the goods is checked, the goods are cleaned / reconditioned if necessary and repacked. In addition to the resulting process costs and the tying up of resources, there is often a loss of value due to the use or testing of the customers. The effects include reduced profit margins of online retailers / fashion companies, unnecessary transportation, increased CO2 emissions, wasted packaging material, inefficiencies in business processes, dissatisfied customers and a poor external image of the company.
The development goal includes the unfolding of A.I. technology on the customer and company side in order to ensure a profound development of the keep rate through deep learning. By maximizing the keep rate, we can reduce the return rate by at least 50% and significantly lower process costs. In addition, the conversion rate in the online shop is maximized and the flexibility and speed of innovation of the fashion retailers is improved.

Begin
End

Direkt zum Inhalt

Im Rahmen dieses Förderprojektes mit dem Startup Dresslife wird ein System entwickelt, welches das Problem der hohen Retourenquoten im Fashion-eCommerce beheben soll. Durch Deep-Learning-Methoden sollen Informationsasymmetrien zwischen Kunde, Warensortiment und Unternehmen abgebaut werden. Davon profitiert neben den Unternehmen auch die Umwelt, da die vermeidbaren Rücksendungen CO2-Emissionen verursachen.

Beschreibung

Einer der größten Kostentreiber im Fashion-eCommerce sind Rücksende – und Bearbeitungskosten aufgrund einer hohen Retourenquote, weil den Käufern/Käuferinnen die bestellten Kleidungsartikel entweder nicht passen oder nicht mit den persönlichen Geschmack übereinstimmen. Die bestellten Waren werden zurückgesendet und es entstehen Retourenquoten von bis zu 80%. Trifft die retournierte Ware im Unternehmen ein, wird das Paket von den Mitarbeitern ausgepackt, der Warenzustand geprüft, die Ware ggf. gereinigt / überholt und neu verpackt. Neben den entstehenden Prozesskosten und der Ressourcenbindung tritt häufig ein Wertverlust durch Ingebrauchnahme bzw. Testungen der Kunden ein. Die Auswirkungen umfassen geschmälerte Gewinnmargen der Onlinehändler / Modeunternehmen, unnötige Transporte, erhöhte CO2 Emissionen, verschwendetes Verpackungsmaterial, Ineffizienzen bei den Geschäftsprozessen, unzufriedene Kunden und eine mangelhafte Außenwirkung der Unternehmen.

Das Entwicklungsziel umfasst die Entfaltung der A.I.-Technologie auf Kunden- und Unternehmensseite, um durch Deep Learning eine respektive tiefgreifende Entwicklung der Keep Rate sicherzustellen. Durch die Maximierung der Keep Rate können wir die Retourenquote um mindestens 50% reduzieren und Prozesskosten entscheidend absenken. Zusätzlich wird die Conversion Rate im Onlineshop maximiert und die Flexibilität und Innovationsgeschwindigkeit der Modehändler verbessert.

Research area
Intelligent Access to Information
Begin
End