Skip to main content
Sharing digital education
Online Unterricht

In 2021, the majority of university teaching is still taking place digitally. Lecturers must therefore continue to adapt their learning materials to the requirements of digital teaching - in addition to research, teaching and institute tasks. So-called Open Educational Resources (OER) can make this work much easier. OER provide teachers with the opportunity to re-use high-quality educational materials, adapt them to specific teaching and learning contexts and (collaboratively) develop them further. The basis for this is, on the one hand, the open licensing of materials and, on the other hand, the use of technical standards that guarantee the retrieval, re-use and interoperability of digital materials.

Online Unterricht

The OER portal Twillo, developed at the German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB) together with other partners and funded by the Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture, offers teachers a reliable infrastructure for sharing open educational resources with colleagues. In addition to material hosting and search functions, there are planning aids for formats such as task-oriented material, lessons or courses, as well as legal assistance. Furthermore, didactic templates are available, such as problem-oriented or research-based learning. A quality check allows teachers to test for themselves how open and reusable the uploaded material is.

Twillo is based on the open source software Edu-Sharing. University employees can already authenticate themselves in the portal via DFN-AAI. "In the course of the project, the Lower Saxony OER Portal will be connected to all common learning management systems as well as other platforms such as the TIB AV Portal and Opencast" says Axel Klinger, Chief Technology Officer (CTO) at TIB and responsible for IT development in the project. In order to create and curate Open Educational Resources, a collaborative platform developed by scientists at the L3S research center in the EU-funded SlideWiki project will also be connected to the portal. Twillo thus builds directly on preliminary work done at L3S and the Joint Lab of L3S and TIB.

Twillo.eu

 

Contact:

Prof. Dr. Sören Auer

auer@L3S.de

Sören Auer is a member of the extended

L3S Board of Directors, Director of the TIB - Leibniz Information Centre

Leibniz Information Centre for Technology and

and Professor for Data Science and

Data Science and Digital Libraries at the

Leibniz University of Hanover.

 

Margret Plank

Margret.Plank@tib.eu

Margret Plank is head of the Lab Non-textual Materials

at the TIB - Leibniz Information Centre for Science and Technology.

Natural Sciences. She coordinates the project OER-Portal Niedersachsen.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Digitale Lehre teilen
Online Unterricht

Auch 2021 findet die Hochschullehre zum überwiegenden Teil digital statt. Dozentinnen und Dozenten müssen also weiterhin ihre Lernmaterialien an die Anforderungen der digitalen Lehre anpassen – und das zusätzlich zu Forschung, Lehre und Institutsaufgaben. Sogenannte Open Educational Resources (OER) können diese Arbeit wesentlich erleichtern. OER bieten Lehrenden die Möglichkeit, qualitativ hochwertige Bildungsmaterialien nachzunutzen, an spezifische Lehr- und Lernkontexte anzupassen und (kollaborativ) weiterzuentwickeln. Grundlage sind zum einen die offene Lizenzierung von Materialien, zum anderen die Verwendung technischer Standards, die das Auffinden, Nachnutzen und die Interoperabilität digitaler Materialien gewährleisten.

Das an der Technischen Informationsbibliothek (TIB) gemeinsam mit weiteren Partnern entwickelte und vom Niedersächsischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur geförderte OER-Portal Twillo bietet Lehrenden eine verlässliche Infrastruktur, um offene Bildungsressourcen mit Kollegen zu teilen. Neben Material-Hosting und -Suchfunktion gibt es Planungshilfen für Formate, wie aufgabenorientiertes Material, Lektionen oder Kurse, sowie rechtliche Hilfestellungen. Darüber hinaus stehen didaktische Templates bereit, etwa für problemorientiertes oder forschendes Lernen. Mit einem Qualitätscheck können die Lehrenden selbst testen, wie offen und nachnutzbar das hochgeladene Material ist.

 

Twillo basiert auf der Open-Source-Software Edu-Sharing. Mitarbeiter von Hochschulen können sich bereits jetzt im Portal über DFN-AAI authentifizieren. „Das OER-Portal Niedersachsen wird im Laufe des Projekts an alle gängigen Lernmanagementsysteme sowie weitere Plattformen wie das TIB AV-Portal und Opencast angebunden“ sagt Axel Klinger, Chief Technology Officer (CTO) der TIB und im Projekt für die IT-Entwicklung verantwortlich. Um Open Educational Resources zu erstellen und zu kuratieren, wird auch eine kollaborative Plattform, die Wissenschaftler am Forschungszentrum L3S im EU-geförderten Projekt SlideWiki entwickelt haben, an das Portal angebunden. Twillo baut damit direkt auf Vorarbeiten des L3S und des Joint-Lab von L3S und TIB auf.

Twillo.eu

 

Kontakt:

 

Prof. Dr. Sören Auer

auer@L3S.de

Sören Auer ist Mitglied des erweiter-

ten L3S-Direktoriums, Direktor der TIB –

Leibniz-Informationszentrum Technik und

Naturwissenschaften und Professor für

Data Science und Digital Libraries an der

Leibniz Universität Hannover.

 

Margret Plank

Margret.Plank@tib.eu

Margret Plank leitet das Lab Nicht-textuelle Materialien

an der TIB – Leibniz Informationszentrum Technik und

Naturwissenschaften. Sie koordiniert das Projekt OER-Portal Niedersachsen.