Skip to main content
Data-driven instruction in STEM subjects

Homeschooling, alternate instruction, digital instruction - the need for digital solutions for schools and universities has rarely been more apparent. During the Corona pandemic, many educational institutions are suddenly forced to adopt new approaches to teaching and learning. The prevailing uncertainty about the effectiveness of teaching approaches shows: Further research is urgently needed on teaching formats and how they can interact to enable effective learning.

The interdisciplinary doctoral program LernMINT, funded by the state of Lower Saxony, aims to close this gap: 15 fellows are researching the opportunities, limits and risks of data-based teaching and learning. They receive support from researchers at Leibniz Universität Hannover and L3S, Ostfalia University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Hannover University of Applied Sciences and Arts, and the German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB), who pool their expertise in subject didactics, the natural sciences, and computer science in LernMINT.

The Research Training Group focuses on the question of what opportunities the digital transformation offers for increasing quality and efficiency in schools and universities - and this in the area of tension between subject didactics, learning analytics and data protection. The doctoral projects are divided into five thematic complexes: (1) digital methods for STEM teaching, (2) data-driven analysis and use of learning potential, (3) informal learning in the context of school and university, (4) support for the transition from school to university, and (5) data protection, fairness, and acceptance of learning analytics.

In the doctoral program, which runs until 2024, the doctoral students develop prototypical technologies for these topics and investigate their impact from a didactic perspective.

https://lernmint.org

 

Contact:
 

Wolfgang Gritz M. Sc.

Gritz@L3S.de

Wolfgang Gritz is a PhD student in the Visual Analytics research group at L3S.

He conducts research in the areas of learning analytics and multimodal analytics.

 

Dr. Anett Hoppe

Anett.Hoppe@tib.eu

Anett Hoppe is a postdoctoral researcher in the Visual Analytics research group.

She conducts research in the areas of Search as Learning and Open Educational Resources.

 

Prof. Dr. Ralph Ewerth

Ewerth@L3S.de

L3S member Ralph Ewerth is Professor of Visual Analytics at the University of Hannover and heads the research group of the same name at TIB.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Datengestützter Unterricht in den MINT-Fächern
Datengestützter Unterricht

Homeschooling, Wechselunterricht, Digitalunterricht - der Bedarf an digitalen Lösungen für Schulen und Universitäten zeigte sich selten so deutlich wie heute. Während der Corona-Pandemie sind viele Bildungseinrichtungen plötzlich gezwungen, in Lehre und Unterricht neue Wege einzuschlagen. Die herrschende Unsicherheit über die Wirksamkeit der Lehransätze zeigt: An Lehrformaten und wie sie in ihrem Zusammenspiel effektives Lernen ermöglichen können, muss dringend weiter geforscht werden.

Das vom Land Niedersachsen geförderte interdisziplinäre Promotionsprogramm LernMINT soll diese Lücke schließen: 15 Stipendiaten erforschen die Chancen, Grenzen und Risiken des datengestützten Lehrens und Lernens. Unterstützung erhalten sie von Forschern der Leibniz Universität Hannover und des L3S, der Ostfalia-Hochschule, der Hochschule Hannover und der Technischen Informationsbibliothek (TIB), die in LernMINT ihre fachdidaktische, naturwissenschaftliche und informatische Expertise bündeln.

Im Mittelpunkt des Graduiertenkollegs steht die Frage, welche Möglichkeiten die digitale Transformation zur Qualitäts- und Effizienzsteigerung in Schule und Hochschule bietet - und das im Spannungsfeld von Fachdidaktik, Learning Analytics und Datenschutz. Dabei gliedern sich die Promotionsprojekte in fünf Themenkomplexe: (1) Digitale Methoden für den MINT-Unterricht, (2) datengestützte Analyse und Nutzung von Lernpotenzialen, (3) informelles Lernen im Kontext von Schule und Hochschule, (4) Unterstützung des Übergangs von Schule zu Hochschule sowie (5) Datenschutz, Fairness und Akzeptanz von Learning Analytics.

In dem bis 2024 laufenden Promotionsprogramm entwickeln die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden prototypische Technologien für diese Themenbereiche und untersuchen fachdidaktisch ihre Wirkung.

https://lernmint.org

 

Kontakt:
 

Wolfgang Gritz M. Sc.

Gritz@L3S.de

Wolfgang Gritz ist Doktorand in der Forschungsgruppe Visual Analytics am L3S.

Er forscht in den Bereichen Learning Analytics und Multimodal Analytics.

 

Dr. Anett Hoppe

Anett.Hoppe@tib.eu

Anett Hoppe ist Postdoktorandin in der Forschungsgruppe Visual Analytics.

Sie forscht in den Bereichen Search as Learning und Open Educational Resources.

 

Prof. Dr. Ralph Ewerth

Ewerth@L3S.de

L3S-Mitglied Ralph Ewerth ist Professor für Visual Analytics an der Uni Hannover und leitet an der TIB die gleichnamige Forschungsgruppe.