Skip to main content
Science video search engine
Suche

Videos have a long tradition in science communication. With social media, this trend has intensified further. The German National Library of Science and Technology operates a portal for audiovisual media that bundles scientific films and videos from university teaching. The goal of the TIB AV portal: professional hosting and semantic indexing of scientific videos for research purposes.

The portal currently provides over 30,000 quality-checked scientific videos - mainly from technology and the natural sciences and under Creative Commons licenses. These include computer visualizations, learning videos, simulations, experiments, interviews, and lecture and conference recordings. The videos can be searched by content and relevant sections can be called up by segment. To ensure that they are available in the long term and can be referenced to the second, the videos are archived for the long term and assigned a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) and a Media Fragment Identifier (MFID). Automated analysis methods can index videos on a fine-granular and time-based basis: Temporal segmentation, keyframe-based text recognition, speech recognition for the creation of audio transcripts, annotation with predefined visual concepts as well as semantic analysis and subject-specific tagging of the video content are used.

In the DFG-funded project TIB AV Analytics, TIB scientists have been working since January 2021 to expand the TIB AV Portal to include a web-based platform for systematic film and video analysis. TIB AV Analytics is intended to enable media and film scholars, as well as researchers from other disciplines, to apply state-of-the-art algorithms for automatic video analysis to individual videos or video collections and to evaluate the results using interactive information visualizations. The analysis methods include automatic detection of setting and scene boundaries or even objects, locations and people.

https://av.tib.eu

TIB AV-Portal

Contact:

Margret Plank

Margret.Plank@tib.eu

Margret Plank heads the Lab for Non-Textual Materials at TIB - Leibniz Information Centre for Science and Technology, which develops infrastructures and tools for non-textual formats such as video, graphics and research data.

 

Prof. Dr. Ralph Ewerth

Ewerth@L3S.de

L3S member Ralph Ewerth is a professor at LUH and heads the TIB Visual Analytics research group. His research topics include multimedia retrieval and digital learning .

Direkt zum Inhalt
Suchmaschine für Wissenschaftsvideos

Videos haben in der Wissenschaftskommunikation eine lange Tradition. Mit den sozialen Medien hat sich dieser Trend weiter verstärkt. Die Technische Informationsbibliothek betreibt ein Portal für audiovisuelle Medien, das wissenschaftliche Filme und Videos aus der Hochschullehre bündelt. Das Ziel des TIB AV-Portals: professionelles Hosting und die semantische Erschließung wissenschaftlicher Videos zu Recherchezwecken.

Über 30.000 qualitätsgeprüfte wissenschaftliche Videos stellt das Portal derzeit bereit - vorwiegend aus Technik und Naturwissenschaften und unter Creative-Commons-Lizenzen. Darunter befinden sich Computervisualisierungen, Lernvideos, Simulationen, Experimente, Interviews sowie Vorlesungs- und Konferenzaufzeichnungen. Die Videos lassen sich inhaltlich durchsuchen und relevante Abschnitte segmentgenau aufrufen. Damit sie langfristig zur Verfügung stehen und sekundengenau referenziert werden können, werden die Videos langzeitarchiviert und erhalten einen Digital Object Identifier (DOI) und einen Media Fragment Identifier (MFID). Automatisierte Analyseverfahren können Videos feingranular und zeitbasiert erschließen: Zum Einsatz kommen die zeitliche Segmentierung, Keyframe-basierte Texterkennung, Spracherkennung zur Erstellung von Audiotranskripten, Annotation mit vordefinierten visuellen Konzepten sowie die semantische Analyse und fachspezifische Verschlagwortung der Videoinhalte.

Im DFG-geförderten Projekt TIB AV Analytics sind Wissenschaftler der TIB seit Januar 2021 dabei, das TIB AV-Portal um eine webbasierte Plattform für die systematische Film- und Videoanalyse zu erweitern. TIB AV Analytics soll Medien- und Filmwissenschaftlern, aber auch Forschern aus anderen Disziplinen ermöglichen, State-of-the-Art-Algorithmen für die automatische Videoanalyse auf einzelne Videos oder Videosammlungen anzuwenden und die Ergebnisse mittels interaktiver Informationsvisualisierungen auszuwerten. Zu den Analyseverfahren gehört die automatische Erkennung von Einstellungs- und Szenengrenzen oder auch von Objekten, Orten und Personen.

https://av.tib.eu

TIB AV-Portal

Kontakt:

Margret Plank

Margret.Plank@tib.eu

Margret Plank leitet das Lab für nicht-textuelle Materialien an der TIB – Leibniz Informationszentrum Technik und Naturwissenschaften, das Infrastrukturen und Tools für nicht-textuelle Formate wie Video, Grafiken und Forschungsdaten entwickelt.

 

Prof. Dr. Ralph Ewerth

Ewerth@L3S.de

L3S-Mitglied Ralph Ewerth ist Professor an der LUH und leitet die TIB-Forschungsgruppe Visual  Analytics. Er forscht u. a. zu den Themen Multimedia Retrieval und Digitales Lernen.