Skip to main content
Process automation in minutes

This can help companies save costs: beh.digital GmbH, a spin-off of L3S, has developed a learning camera that can automate industrial processes and quality control quickly and easily.

 

Kamera

Conventional image processing systems, such as those used in quality assurance, have to be developed for specific applications and are time-consuming. The costs are correspondingly high. Artificial intelligence can solve the problem, but companies often lack the necessary know-how - especially medium-sized companies. The smart cameras from beh.digital show that this can also be done quickly and easily. Using machine learning methods based on camera images, they can automate industrial inspection processes in a fast-track process. Instead of classic image processing, the customer takes pictures of the process and then categorizes them. A few minutes after the artificial neural network of the camera system has been trained with the image data, it can already distinguish objects or detect defects.

The image processing algorithms were developed at L3S and the Institute for Microelectronic Systems at Leibniz Universität Hannover - originally for autonomous driving vehicles. However, they also show first-class recognition performance in other industries. The camera's software reduces the need for knowledge, so that even small and medium-sized companies can smoothly automate complex recognition tasks with just a few clicks. A unique selling point of the solution: the training of the algorithms and the data processing take place entirely within the company. As a result, there are no data protection problems. Another plus: The software and the highly energy-efficient hardware are optimally matched.

beh.digital GmbH was founded in 2018 by doctoral students at Leibniz Universität Hannover and has won several awards. Experiences from numerous customer-specific developments during the doctoral period have been incorporated into the smart cameras.

https://beh.digital

beh.digital

 

Contact:

Nicolai Behmann, M.Sc.

behmann@beh.digital

Nicolai Behmann has been researching algorithms and architectures for highly automated driving at L3S and the Institute of Microelectronic Systems since 2015. With his spin-off, he wants to make the latest innovations usable for medium-sized companies.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Prozessautomatisierung in Minutenschnelle
beh.digital

Damit können Unternehmen Kosten sparen: Die beh.digital GmbH, eine Ausgründung des L3S, hat eine lernende Kamera entwickelt, die Industrieprozesse und Qualitätskontrolle schnell und einfach automatisieren kann.

 

Kamera

Konventionelle Bildverarbeitungssysteme, wie sie etwa in der Qualitätssicherung zum Einsatz kommen, müssen anwendungsspezifisch und zeitintensiv entwickelt werden. Entsprechend hoch sind die Kosten. Künstliche Intelligenz kann das Problem zwar lösen, aber oftmals fehlt es in Unternehmen am notwendigen Know-how - vor allem im Mittelstand. Dass es auch schnell und einfach geht, zeigen die smarten Kameras von beh.digital. Mit maschinellen Lernverfahren auf Grundlage von Kamerabildern können sie industrielle Prüfprozesse im Schnellverfahren automatisieren. Anstelle der klassischen Bildverarbeitung nimmt der Kunde Bilder des Prozesses auf und kategorisiert sie anschließend. Wenige Minuten nachdem das künstliche neuronale Netz des Kamerasystems mit den Bilddaten trainiert wurde, kann es bereits Objekte unterscheiden oder Fehler erkennen.

Die Bildverarbeitungsalgorithmen wurden am L3S und am Institut für Mikroelektronische Systeme der Leibniz Universität Hannover entwickelt – ursprünglich für autonom fahrende Fahrzeuge. Sie zeigen aber auch in anderen Branchen erstklassige Erkennungsleistungen. Die Software der Kamera verringert den Wissensbedarf, sodass auch kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen komplexe Erkennungsaufgaben mit wenigen Klicks reibungslos automatisieren können. Ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal der Lösung: Das Training der Algorithmen und die Datenverarbeitung finden komplett im Unternehmen statt. Dadurch gibt es keine Probleme beim Datenschutz. Ein weiteres Plus: Die Software und die hochgradig energieeffiziente Hardware sind optimal aufeinander abgestimmt.

Die beh.digital GmbH wurde 2018 von Doktoranden der Leibniz Universität Hannover gegründet und mehrfach mit Preisen ausgezeichnet. Erfahrungen aus zahlreichen kundenspezifischen Entwicklungen während der Promotionszeit sind in die smarten Kameras eingeflossen.

https://beh.digital

beh.digital

Kontakt:

Nicolai Behmann, M.Sc.

behmann@beh.digital

Nicolai Behmann forscht seit 2015 am L3S und am Institut für Mikroelektronische Systeme zu Algorithmen und Architekturen für hochautomatisiertes Fahren. Mit seiner Ausgründung möchte er die neuesten Innovationen für den Mittelstand nutzbar machen.