Skip to main content
Date
2020-08-18
HAISEM-Lab

The diverse use and constant development of artificial intelligence are changing IT systems and their development. The increasingly complex AI models require so much computing power and energy that conventional computer systems reach their limits. Therefore, more and more work is being done on the use of specialized hardware (e.g., GPUs, FPGAs, ASICs, and TPUs), which are already in use in various places in the industrial environment. However, AI methods and specialized hardware must be integrated into standard software systems. For example, data is read from sensors, or actuators like robots are controlled. For the planning and realization of such methods, appropriate approaches from software engineering are required. To benefit from modern techniques, specialists in the industry must be able to understand and apply these techniques. This is precisely one of HAISEM-Lab’s core objectives, i.e., to test and evaluate these techniques and make them available to interested parties in the form of courses.

The next three courses of the project will take place as webinars in September:

  • Software Engineering of AI Applications (September 10 -11)
  • FPGA hardware architectures for AI (September 21-22)
  • Best practices for AI optimization (September 28)

Further information about the courses and free registration: http://haisem-lab.de/

A major event on AI and specialized hardware is planned for the end of October as a face-to-face event.

To get an insight into particular topics, the project team will put small videos online on YouTube in the next few weeks. On the project‘s website is a link to the YouTube channel.

If you want to learn more about the basics of software engineering before the HAISEM Lab course “Software Engineering of AI Applications”, you are welcome to register for a course at the sister project UpgradeIT (https://www.upgrade-it-wissen.de/), which will take place on August 27th and 28th.

In the HAISEM-Lab project, which is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the L3S Research Center and the Institute of Microelectronic Systems at the University of Hannover and the Software Systems Engineering (SSE) group at the University of Hildesheim are collaborating. HAISEM stands for “Hardware-optimized AI Applications using modern Software-Engineering Methods”.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Date
2020-08-18
HAISEM-Lab

Die vielfältige Nutzung und die ständige Weiterentwicklung von künstlicher Intelligenz verändert IT-Systeme und deren Entwicklung. Dabei beanspruchen die immer komplexeren KI-Modelle so viel Rechenleistung und Energie, dass konventionelle Computersysteme an ihre Grenzen stoßen. Deshalb wird vermehrt am Einsatz spezialisierter Hardware (z.B. GPUs, FPGAs, ASICs und TPUs) gearbeitet, die bereits an verschiedenen Stellen im industriellen Umfeld eingesetzt werden. Um in der Praxis nützlich zu sein, müssen sowohl KI-Methoden als auch die spezialisierte Hardware in übliche Software-Systeme integriert werden. Beispielsweise werden dabei Daten von Sensoren gelesen oder Aktoren wie Roboter angesteuert. Zur Planung und Realisierung solcher Systeme sind entsprechende Ansätze aus dem Software Engineering erforderlich. Um von den modernen Techniken zu profitieren, müssen Fachkräfte in der Industrie diese Techniken verstehen und anwenden können. Genau das ist ein Kernziel von HAISEM-Lab, d.h., diese Techniken zu erproben, zu evaluieren und in Form von Kursen Interessierten zugänglich zu machen.

Die nächsten drei Kurse des Projekts finden als Webinare im September statt:

  • Software Engineering von KI-Anwendungen (10. - 11. September 2020)
  • FPGA-Hardwarearchitekturen für KI (21. - 22. September)
  • Best Practices zur KI Optimierung (28. September)

Nähere Informationen zu den Kursen und eine kostenfreie Anmeldung: http://haisem-lab.de/

Ein größeres Event zu KI und Spezialhardware ist für Ende Oktober als Präsenzveranstaltung geplant.

Um einen Einblick in einzelne Themen zu bekommen, stellt das Projektteam in den nächsten Wochen kleine Videos auf Youtube online – der Youtube-Kanal ist auf der Projektwebseite verlinkt.

Wer sich vor dem HAISEM-Lab-Kurs „Software Engineering von KI-Anwendungen“ noch über Grundlagen im Software-Engineering informieren möchte, kann sich gerne beim Schwesterprojekt UpgradeIT (https://www.upgrade-it-wissen.de/) in einen Kurs einschreiben, der am 27. und 28. August stattfinden wird.

Im Projekt HAISEM-Lab, das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert wird, arbeiten das Forschungszentrum L3S und das Institut für Mikroelektronische Systeme der Universität Hannover sowie die Arbeitsgruppe Software Systems Engineering (SSE) der Universität Hildesheim zusammen. HAISEM steht für „Hardware-optimized AI Applications using modern Software-Engineering Methods“.