Skip to main content
Corona: Everything in view with the ORKG

Several new scientific articles on COVID-19 are published daily. Many publishers have decided to support COVID-19 research and publish articles related to the crisis topic as Open Access. Access to scientific articles is of crucial importance for research. The organisation of the information published in them is essential, but extremely time-consuming. And under these circumstances, time is an asset that is more valuable than ever.

Prof. Dr. Sören Auer and his team in the Joint Lab of L3S and TIB want to use the Open Research Knowledge Graph(ORKG) to make the organisation of scientific knowledge more efficient. The ORKG presents the knowledge published in scientific literature in a structured way so that it can be used more easily by machines and is ultimately more readily available.

Organize R0 knowledge efficiently

Dr. Markus Stocker and Allard Oelen are part of the ORKG research team. They show how the ORKG can organize the knowledge of the COVID-19 basic reproduction number, also known as R0. The number refers to the expected number of people that an infected person will infect. Together with the mortality rate, R0 provides information about how dangerous an infectious disease is. These figures may vary from place to place due to population density or cultural differences. R0 figures for some known diseases include 12-18 for measles, 2-5 for SARS and 2-3 for colds.

Several articles have already been published on R0 estimates for COVID-19. As they are scattered over the growing literature, it is becoming more and more difficult to organize information about R0, its value, confidence intervals, study location and time frame. Traditionally, reviews organize the literature on a particular problem. But they have at least two shortcomings: Firstly, their content, like the original research articles, is unstructured and therefore difficult to machine. Second, they reflect the state of knowledge at a given point in time.

This is where the ORKG comes in. The knowledge graph supports the structured description of scientific work. The following information is particularly relevant for R0 research: the R0 estimate, a confidence interval of 95 percent, the time frame and location of the study and (optionally) the methods used to determine R0. In articles this information is published as natural text, which makes the extraction (human or machine) of exactly this information quite difficult. With the ORKG the same information can be published in a structured form.

 

ORKG

The ORKG translates information from natural text into corresponding machine usable representations.


Machine knowledge exploitation

Only through the structured presentation of scientific findings can literature overviews or comparisons be automatically generated in the ORKG. This is exciting, but only one of several possibilities. The second one is that ORKG overviews, in contrast to overview articles, can evolve. When new literature on R0 research is published, it is easy to extend such an overview, which thus continues to reflect the current state of knowledge in a comparable way.

However, the real strength of such ORKG overviews becomes apparent when they are used as data sources. In fact, thanks to the machine usability of both the data and the data exchange protocol (REST API), it is possible to integrate the ORKG and overviews into the data analysis.

www.L3S.de/de/projects/sciencegraph

www.orkg.org

ORKG

Automatically generated literature overview for the use case of the COVID-19 basic reproduction number

Source: https://www.orkg.org/orkg/comparison/R12251

 

Contact:

Dr. Markus Stocker

markus.stocker@tib.eu

Markus Stocker is a research assistant in the Joint Lab of L3S and TIB.  At the TIB, he heads the junior research group on knowledge infrastructures. His research interests lie at the interface between research infrastructures and research communities and how such infrastructures acquire, maintain and share scientific knowledge about human and natural worlds.

 

Allard Oelen

Oelen@L3S.de

Allard Oelen is a research assistant in the Joint Lab of L3S and TIB. He is researching technologies of the Semantic Web and how they can be used in real applications. He is also interested in human-computer interaction and especially in the design and development of user interfaces.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Corona: Alles im Blick mit dem ORKG

Zu COVID-19 erscheinen täglich etliche neue wissenschaftliche Artikel. Viele Verlage haben beschlossen, die COVID-19-Forschung zu unterstützen, und veröffentlichen Artikel mit Bezug zum Krisenthema als Open Access. Der Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Artikeln ist für die Forschung von entscheidender Bedeutung. Die Organisation der darin veröffentlichten Informationen ist zwar unerlässlich, aber extrem zeitaufwendig. Und Zeit ist unter diesen Umständen ein Aktivposten, der wertvoller ist denn je.

Prof. Dr. Sören Auer und sein Team im Joint Lab von L3S und TIB wollen mit dem Open Research Knowledge Graph (ORKG) das Organisieren wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse effizienter machen. Der ORKG stellt das in der wissenschaftlichen Literatur veröffentlichte Wissen strukturiert dar, sodass es maschinell verwertbarer ist und letztlich leichter zur Verfügung steht.

R0-Wissen effizient organisieren

Dr. Markus Stocker und Allard Oelen gehören zum ORKG-Forscherteam. Sie zeigen, wie der ORKG das Wissen um die COVID-19-Basisreproduktionszahl, auch R0 genannt, organisieren kann. Die Zahl bezieht sich auf die erwartete Anzahl von Menschen, die eine infizierte Person anstecken wird. Zusammen mit der Sterblichkeitsrate gibt R0 Aufschluss darüber, wie gefährlich eine Infektionskrankheit ist. Diese Zahlen können sich aufgrund der Bevölkerungsdichte oder kultureller Unterschiede von Ort zu Ort unterscheiden. Zu den R0-Zahlen einiger bekannter Krankheiten gehören 12 - 18 für Masern, 2 - 5 für SARS und 2 - 3 für Erkältungskrankheiten.

Es sind bereits einige Artikel über R0-Schätzungen zu COVID-19 veröffentlicht worden. Da sie über die wachsende Literatur verstreut sind, wird es immer aufwendiger, Informationen über R0, ihren Wert, die Konfidenzintervalle, den Studienort und den Zeitrahmen zu organisieren. Traditionell organisieren Reviews die Literatur zu einem bestimmten Problem. Aber sie weisen mindestens zwei Mängel auf: Erstens ist ihr Inhalt ebenso wie die ursprünglichen Forschungsartikel unstrukturiert und daher kaum maschinell verwertbar. Zweitens spiegeln sie den Stand des Wissens zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt wider.

Hier setzt der ORKG an. Der Wissensgraph unterstützt die strukturierte Beschreibung der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit. Für die R0-Forschung sind die folgenden Informationen besonders relevant: die R0-Schätzung, ein Konfidenzintervall von 95 Prozent, der Zeitrahmen und der Ort der Studie und (optional) die zur Bestimmung des R0 verwendeten Methoden. In Artikeln werden diese Informationen als natürlicher Text veröffentlicht, was die (menschliche oder maschinelle) Extraktion genau dieser Informationen ziemlich schwierig macht. Mit dem ORKG können dieselben Informationen in strukturierter Form veröffentlicht werden.

 

ORKG

Der ORKG übersetzt Informationen aus natürlichem Text in entsprechende maschinell verwertbare Repräsentationen.


Maschinelle Wissensverwertung

Erst durch die strukturierte Darstellung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse können Literaturübersichten oder -vergleiche im ORKG automatisch erstellt werden. Das ist spannend, aber nur eine von mehreren Möglichkeiten. Die zweite ist, dass sich ORKG-Übersichten im Gegensatz zu Übersichtsartikeln weiterentwickeln können. Wenn neue Literatur zur R0-Forschung veröffentlicht wird, ist es einfach, eine solche Übersicht zu erweitern, die somit weiterhin den aktuellen Wissensstand in vergleichbarer Weise widerspiegelt.

Die eigentliche Stärke solcher ORKG-Übersichten zeigt sich jedoch, wenn man sie als Datenquellen verwendet. Tatsächlich ist es dank der maschinellen Verwertbarkeit sowohl der Daten als auch des Datenaustauschprotokolls (REST API) möglich, den ORKG und die Übersichten in die Datenanalyse einzubinden.

www.L3S.de/de/projects/sciencegraph

www.orkg.org

ORKG

Automatisch erstellte Literaturübersicht für den Anwendungsfall der COVID-19- Basisreproduktionsnummer
Quelle: https://www.orkg.org/orkg/comparison/R12251

 

Kontakt:

Dr. Markus Stocker

markus.stocker@tib.eu

Markus Stocker ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Joint Lab von L3S und TIB.  An der TIB leitet er die Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe Wissensinfrastrukturen. Seine Forschungsinteressen liegen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Forschungsinfrastrukturen und Forschungsgemeinschaften und der Art und Weise, wie solche Infrastrukturen wissenschaftliches Wissen über menschliche und natürliche Welten erwerben, erhalten und teilen.

 

Allard Oelen

Oelen@L3S.de

Allard Oelen ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Joint Lab von L3S und TIB. Er forscht zu Technologien des Semantic Web und wie sie in realen Anwendungen eingesetzt werden können. Darüber hinaus interessieren ihn Mensch-Computer-Interaktion und insbesondere Design und Entwicklung von Benutzeroberflächen.