Skip to main content
Corona: The MHH's package of measures

Corona viruses have caused two epidemics in the last two decades and now a severe pandemic that has already claimed hundreds of thousands of lives worldwide. As the pandemic is still ongoing, it is impossible to predict its extent. This makes it all the more important to implement appropriate measures quickly, to gain new knowledge about COVID-19 and to develop efficient strategies to mitigate the consequences of the pandemic and to be better prepared for newly emerging corona viruses in the long term.

The Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony (MWK) is providing the Hannover Medical School (MHH) with eight million euros for research into and the fight against SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19. The comprehensive package of measures covers several research areas. Thanks to its strong anchoring in infection research, the MHH can learn from acute cases and derive future prevention and therapy measures from them. Scientists of the MHH priority area "Infection and Immunity" have developed a concept for research into the pathogen SARS-CoV-2 and the disease COVID-19 in close cooperation with the priority clinics and wards of the MHH, the excellence cluster RESIST, theHelmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI), TWINCORE and the Centre for Individualised Infection Medicine(CiiM). The research project includes approaches to develop vaccination strategies, to understand the severity of disease progression and to identify broad spectrum agents. The scientists also want to develop innovations for prevention, therapy and management. Overall, the aim is to create synergies between the areas and to immediately put short- and medium-term solutions into practice in addition to long-term findings.

An important part of the research program is the establishment of a COVID-19 patient cohort to systematically collect and store biological material. Through broad molecular characterization, it serves to clarify the development of the disease and the different degrees of severity of the disease, as well as to improve the treatment of COVID-19 patients. The establishment of this cohort offers a unique opportunity to better understand the pathophysiology of the disease. The aim is to detect biomarkers and the associated metabolic pathways and to use them to develop therapeutic options. The very different clinical courses of the disease suggest that a mixture of genetic and immunological factors as well as certain metabolic processes are responsible for its severity. Differently aggressive virus strains could also be the reason.

The MHH has started to establish a COVID-19 cohort of 1000 patients and controls. Patients with varying degrees of severity are recruited from the MHH and the Klinikum Region Hannover (KRH). The participating MHH clinics with COVID-19 patients are working closely with the head of the central biobank, Prof. Dr. Thomas Illig. Since the focus of infection is on the lungs, it is useful to obtain a broad collection of biomaterials, i.e. not only blood, but also living blood cells, plasma, serum, saliva and bronchoalveolar lavage. The samples can be used for genomic and post-genomic (proteomics, transcriptomics, metabolomics), but also for immunological follow-up analyses. Funding for these so-called omics analyses is currently still outstanding.

As part of this funding, the scientists also intend to develop a vaccine against SARSCoV-2 and neutralizing antibodies for therapy. To this end, the project hopes to obtain antibodies from patients who have overcome COVID-19 disease.

Biobanking
High-quality biobanking using sample preparation on a pipetting robot (Photo: Thomas Figiel)

 

HUB: https://www.mhh.de/institute-zentren-forschungseinrichtungen/hannover-unified-biobank-hub

Project Website: https://www.mhh.de/institute-zentren-forschungseinrichtungen/hannover-unified-biobank-hub/aktuelles/covid-19-biobank

 

Contact:
 

Prof. Dr. Thomas Illig,                                                                                              

Illig.Thomas@mh-hannover.de

L3S member Thomas Illig is the scientific director of the Hannover Unified Biobank (HUB), the central biobank of the MHH, and head of research of the Institute of Human Genetics at the MHH.

 

Dipl.-Biol. Inga Bernemann

Bernemann.Inga@mh-hannnover.de

Biologist Inga Bernemann has been project manager of the German Center for Lung Research (DZL) at the BREATH site in the Biobanking Division since 2012 and heads the Quality Management Division of the Hannover Unified Biobank (HUB).

Direkt zum Inhalt
Corona: Das Maßnahmenpaket der MHH

Coronaviren haben in den letzten beiden Jahrzehnten zwei Epidemien und nun eine schwere Pandemie ausgelöst, der bereits jetzt weltweit hunderttausende Menschen zum Opfer gefallen sind. Da die Pandemie noch anhält, lässt sich das Ausmaß noch gar nicht absehen. Umso wichtiger ist es, geeignete Maßnahmen rasch umzusetzen, neue Erkenntnisse über COVID-19 zu erlangen und effiziente Strategien zu entwickeln, um die Folgen der Pandemie zu mildern und langfristig besser auf neu auftretende Coronaviren vorbereitet zu sein.

Für die Erforschung und Bekämpfung von SARS-CoV-2 und COVID-19 stellt das Niedersächsische Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur (MWK) der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover (MHH) acht Millionen Euro zur Verfügung. Das umfangreiche Maßnahmenpaket deckt mehrere Forschungsbereiche ab. Dank ihrer starken Verankerung in der Infektionsforschung kann die MHH aus den akuten Fällen lernen und daraus künftige Präventions- und Therapiemaßnahmen ableiten. Wissenschaftler des MHH-Schwerpunkts „Infektion und Immunität“ haben in enger Abstimmung mit den Schwerpunktkliniken und -stationen der MHH, dem Exzellenzcluster RESIST, dem Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung (HZI), TWINCORE und dem Centre for Individualised Infection Medicine (CiiM) ein Konzept zur Erforschung des Erregers SARS-CoV-2 und der Krankheit COVID-19 erarbeitet. Das Forschungsvorhaben umfasst Ansätze zur Entwicklung von Impfstrategien, zum Verständnis des Schweregrads von Krankheitsverläufen und zur Identifikation von Breitbandwirkstoffen. Außerdem wollen die Wissenschaftler Innovationen für Prävention, Therapie und Management erarbeiten. Insgesamt gilt es, Synergien zwischen den Bereichen zu schaffen und neben langfristigen Erkenntnissen auch kurz- und mittelfristige Lösungen sofort in die Praxis umzusetzen.

Ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Forschungsprogramms ist der Aufbau einer COVID-19-Patientenkohorte, um biologische Materialien systematisch sammeln und lagern zu können. Sie dient durch breite molekulare Charakterisierung der Aufklärung der Krankheitsentwicklung und des unterschiedlichen Schweregrads der Erkrankung sowie der Verbesserung der Behandlung von COVID-19-Patienten. Der Aufbau dieser Kohorte bietet die einmalige Gelegenheit, die Pathophysiologie der Erkrankung besser zu verstehen. So sollen Biomarker und die damit verbundenen Stoffwechselwege detektiert und daraus Therapieoptionen entwickelt werden. Die sehr unterschiedlichen klinischen Verläufe der Krankheit deuten darauf hin, dass eine Mischung aus genetischen und immunologischen Faktoren sowie bestimmte Stoffwechselvorgänge für den Schweregrad verantwortlich sind. Auch könnten unterschiedlich aggressive Virusstämme der Grund sein.

Die MHH hat begonnen, eine COVID-19-Kohorte von insgesamt 1000 Patienten und Kontrollpersonen aufzubauen. Rekrutiert werden Patienten aus der MHH und dem Klinikum Region Hannover (KRH) mit unterschiedlichem Schweregrad. Die beteiligten MHH-Kliniken mit COVID-19-Patienten arbeiten dabei eng mit dem Leiter der zentralen Biobank, Prof. Dr. Thomas Illig, zusammen. Da der Infektionsfokus auf der Lunge liegt, ist es sinnvoll, eine breite Biomaterialsammlung zu gewinnen, also nicht nur von Blut, sondern auch von lebenden Blutzellen, Plasma, Serum, Speichel und Bronchoalveolarlavage. Die Proben können für genomische und post-genomische (Proteomik, Transkriptomik, Metabolomik), aber auch für immunologische Folgeanalysen verwendet werden. Für diese sogenannten Omics-Analysen steht eine Förderung zurzeit noch aus.

Im Rahmen dieser Förderung wollen die Wissenschaftler auch einen Impfstoff gegen SARSCoV-2 und neutralisierende Antikörper für die Therapie entwickeln. Dafür will das Projekt Antikörper von Patienten gewinnen, die eine COVID-19-Erkrankung überwunden haben.

 

Biobank
Hochqualitatives Biobanking mittels Probenaufbereitung am Pipettierroboter.
Foto: Tom Figiel

 

HUB: https://www.mhh.de/institute-zentren-forschungseinrichtungen/hannover-unified-biobank-hub

Projekt-Webseite:

https://www.mhh.de/institute-zentren-forschungseinrichtungen/hannover-unified-biobank-hub/aktuelles/covid-19-biobank

 

Kontakt:

Prof. Dr. Thomas Illig,                                                                                              

Illig.Thomas@mh-hannover.de

L3S-Mitglied Thomas Illig ist wissenschaftlicher Leiter der Hannover Unified Biobank (HUB), der zentralen Biobank der MHH, und Forschungsleiter des Instituts für Humangenetik der MHH.

 

Dipl.-Biol. Inga Bernemann

Bernemann.Inga@mh-hannnover.de

Die Biologin Inga Bernemann ist seit 2012 Projektmanagerin des Deutschen Zentrums für Lungenforschung (DZL) am Standort BREATH im Bereich Biobanking und leitet den Bereich Qualitätsmanagement der Hannover Unified Biobank (HUB).