Skip to main content
European PhD programmes in AI

Doing a doctorate internationally, interdisciplinarily and across sectors - that is what the European Training Networks (ETN), funded by the EU Commission, offer. They drive scientific excellence and innovation. And they bring together universities, research institutes, companies and other organisations from all over the world to train young researchers up to doctoral level. The L3S coordinates two training networks (CLEOPATRA and NoBIAS) and is involved in another (KnowGraphs) as a partner. By the end of 2020, the new doctoral students at L3S will start working on exciting research topics in the field of artificial intelligence and cooperate with other researchers at the respective ETN.

 

Knowledge graphs for all

How can data be better used? By describing them semantically, linking them with each other and thereby gaining significantly more contextual information. This is roughly how knowledge graphs work. They are a kind of structured database that stores not only data but also their relationships to each other - as knowledge that man and machine can correctly interpret and use to achieve higher quality in decisions and complex processes. Knowledge graphs are therefore considered a key technology for search queries, digital assistants and other applications of artificial intelligence. So far, it is mainly the large digital companies that use knowledge graphs. The goal of the ETN Knowledge Graphs at Scale (KnowGraphs) is to scale knowledge graphs in such a way that they are more easily accessible to a wider range of users - from SMEs to private end users. At ETN, 15 PhD students will work interdisciplinarily on the research and development of novel methods, models and frameworks.

 

https://kg.codezen.net/

 

Contact:

Dr. Maria Koutraki

koutraki@L3S.de

Maria Koutraki is a research associate at L3S and heads the ETN KnowGraphs.

 

Understanding major events better

With the integration of Europe, the number of events that have a major impact on society beyond linguistic and national borders is also increasing - in the last ten years, especially the refugee crisis and terrorist attacks. The result is a digital flood of information, but this varies according to the source, as it reflects certain social aspects, contains culture-specific references, reflects opinions and may also contain incomplete or non-representative data. The PhD students of the ETN Cross-lingual Event-centric Open Analytics Research Academy (CLEOPATRA) aim to significantly facilitate the cross-lingual processing of textual and visual information on important current events and develop innovative methods for efficient and intuitive access to multilingual information and for interaction possibilities. The results will be presented in an understandable way and are particularly aimed at journalists, scientists and users of libraries and archives.

http://cleopatra-project.eu/

 

Contact:

Dr. Elena Demidova

demidova@L3S.de

Elena Demidova is research group leader at L3S and ETN coordinator of CLEOPATRA

 

Designing AI responsibly

Systems based on artificial intelligence (AI) are now widely used to make decisions that have far-reaching effects on individuals and society. But AI decisions involve risks and can generate discrimination, for example in the granting of jobs or loans. This is because distortions can occur in all AI-based decision-making processes, whenever data is collected, when algorithms transform data into decision-making capacity, or when the results are used in applications. The ETN Artificial Intelligence without Bias (NoBIAS) aims to understand the legal, societal and technical challenges of bias in decision making with AI. The 15 PhD students in the NoBIAS-ETN will develop new methods for unbiased decision making based on AI by taking ethical and legal considerations into account when designing technical solutions.

https://www.l3s.de/en/projects/nobias

 

Contact:

Prof. Dr. Eirini Ntoutsi

ntoutsi@L3S.de

Eirini Ntoutsi is L3S member and ETN coordinator of NoBIAS

Direkt zum Inhalt
Europäische Promotionsprogramme zu KI

International, interdisziplinär und sektorübergreifend promovieren – das bieten die von der EU-Kommission geförderten Europäischen Ausbildungsnetze (ETN). Sie treiben wissenschaftliche Exzellenz und Innovation voran. Und sie bringen Universitäten, Forschungsinstitute, Unternehmen und andere Organisationen aus der ganzen Welt zusammen, um junge Forscher bis zur Promotion auszubilden. Das L3S koordiniert zwei Aubildungsnetze (CLEOPATRA und NoBIAS) und ist an einem weiteren (KnowGraphs) als Partner beteiligt. Bis Ende 2020 beginnen die neuen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden am L3S mit der Arbeit an spannenden Forschungsthemen im Bereich der künstlichen Intelligenz und kooperieren mit anderen Forschern des jeweiligen ETN.

 

Wissensgraphen für alle

Wie lassen sich Daten besser nutzen? Indem man sie semantisch beschreibt, miteinander verknüpft und dadurch deutlich mehr Kontextinformationen gewinnt. So in etwa funktionieren Wissensgraphen. Sie sind eine Art strukturierte Datenbank, die nicht nur Daten, sondern auch deren Beziehungen zueinander speichert – als Wissen, das Mensch und Maschine richtig interpretieren und nutzen können, um eine höhere Qualität bei Entscheidungen und komplexen Prozessen zu erzielen. Daher gelten Wissensgraphen als Schlüsseltechnologie etwa für Suchanfragen, digitale Assistenten und für weitere Anwendungen der künstlichen Intelligenz. Bislang sind es vor allem die großen Digitalunternehmen, die Wissensgraphen einsetzen. Das Ziel des ETN Knowledge Graphs at Scale (KnowGraphs) ist es, Wissensgraphen so zu skalieren, dass sie für einen breiteren Anwenderkreis - vom KMU bis zum privaten Endnutzer - leichter zugänglich sind. Im ETN werden sich 15 Doktoranden interdisziplinär mit der Erforschung und Entwicklung neuartiger Methoden, Modelle und Frameworks befassen.

https://kg.codezen.net/

Kontakt:

Dr. Maria Koutraki

koutraki@L3S.de

Maria Koutraki ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am L3S und leitet das ETN KnowGraphs.

 

Große Ereignisse besser verstehen

Mit der Integration Europas steigt auch die Zahl der Ereignisse, die über Sprach- und Staatsgrenzen hinaus einen großen Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft haben - in den letzten zehn Jahren vor allem die Flüchtlingskrise und Terroranschläge. Die Folge ist eine digitale Flut an Informationen, die sich aber je nach Quelle unterscheiden, da sie bestimmte gesellschaftsspezifische Aspekte widerspiegeln, kulturspezifische Bezüge enthalten, Meinungen wiedergeben und auch unvollständige oder nicht-repräsentative Daten enthalten können. Die Doktoranden des ETN Cross-lingual Event-centric Open Analytics Research Academy (CLEOPATRA) wollen die sprachübergreifende Verarbeitung von textlichen und visuellen Informationen zu wichtigen aktuellen Ereignissen deutlich erleichtern und entwickeln innovative Methoden für einen effizienten und intuitiven Zugang zu mehrsprachigen Informationen und für Interaktionsmöglichkeiten. Die Ergebnisse werden verständlich aufbereitet und richten sich insbesondere an Journalisten, Wissenschaftler und Nutzer von Bibliotheken und Archiven.

http://cleopatra-project.eu/

Kontakt:

Dr. Elena Demidova

demidova@L3S.de

Elena Demidova ist Forschungsgruppenleiterin am L3S und ETN-Koordinatorin von CLEOPATRA

 

KI verantwortungsvoll gestalten

Auf künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) basierende Systeme werden heute in großem Umfang eingesetzt, um Entscheidungen zu treffen, die weitreichende Auswirkungen auf den Einzelnen und die Gesellschaft haben. Aber KI-Entscheidungen bergen Risiken und können Diskriminierungen erzeugen, etwa bei der Vergabe von Arbeitsplätzen oder Krediten. Der Grund: In allen KI-basierten Entscheidungsprozessen können Verzerrungen auftreten, immer wenn Daten gesammelt werden, wenn Algorithmen Daten in Entscheidungsfindungskapazität umwandeln oder wenn die Ergebnisse in Anwendungen genutzt werden. Das ETN Artificial Intelligence without Bias (NoBIAS) verfolgt das Ziel, die rechtlichen, gesellschaftlichen und technischen Herausforderungen der Verzerrung bei der Entscheidungsfindung mit KI zu verstehen. Die 15 Doktoranden im NoBIAS-ETN werden neue Methoden für eine unvoreingenommene Entscheidungsfindung auf der Basis von KI entwickeln, indem sie ethische und rechtliche Überlegungen bei der Gestaltung technischer Lösungen berücksichtigen.

https://www.l3s.de/en/projects/nobias

Kontakt:

Prof. Dr. Eirini Ntoutsi

ntoutsi@L3S.de

Eirini Ntoutsi ist L3S-Mitglied und ETN-Koordinatorin von NoBIAS