Skip to main content
Automatic damage detection

The roads in Germany are getting crowded. In the last ten years, the number of new car registrations has risen by over 30 percent. As the number of road users increases, so does the number of claims reported to insurance companies. Trained employees check the data and images of each case and decide whether the use of an expert is necessary. The expert opinions cost several thousand euros and represent a not insignificant part of the turnover of an insurance company.                                     

Automated image processing has the potential to simplify this task considerably. In recent years, this field of research has made great progress. The reason for this is the use of so-called deep learning systems, which learn abstract representations on the basis of data in order to solve a wide variety of tasks. At L3S and the Institute of Information Processing, Prof. Dr. Bodo Rosenhahn and his team are researching new methods for automated image analysis. They are to be used to identify objects and their properties in images - including damage to car components.

Together with the Startup ClaimBuddy, a spin-off of the Leibniz University of Hanover in the field of digital claims management, Prof. Rosenhahn and Frederik Schubert are working on a funding project to meet the requirements for automated claims recognition. This includes building a data set to train a deep learning system that can support insurance companies in the analysis and evaluation of claims. For insurers, this offers the possibility of a cost-saving and time-efficient settlement, especially of small claims.

https://claimbuddy.de/

 

Contact:

Frederik Schubert

schubert@tnt.uni-hannover.de

Frederik Schubert is a research assistant at L3S and the Institute for Information Processing. He deals with reinforcement learning and automatic scene analysis.

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bodo Rosenhahn

rosenhahn@L3S.de

Bodo Rosenhahn is director of the L3S and heads the Institute for Information Processing. His research is in the fields of Computer Vision and Big Data.

 

Amin Khoshandam

amin.khoshandam@claimbuddy.de

Amin Khoshandam is Technical Director at ClaimBuddy.

 

 

Figure 1

Caption: Scratch detection

Source: Car Damage Detective Dataset (https://github.com/neokt/car-damage-detective

Direkt zum Inhalt
Automatische Schadenserkennung

KI für Versicherungen

 

Auf Deutschlands Straßen wird es immer enger. In den letzten zehn Jahren stieg die Anzahl der Neuzulassungen für PKW um über 30 Prozent. Mit der Zahl der Verkehrsteilnehmer wächst auch die Zahl von Schadensfällen, die den Versicherungen gemeldet werden. Ausgebildete Mitarbeiter prüfen die Daten und Bilder jedes Falles und entscheiden, ob der Einsatz eines Gutachters nötig ist. Die Gutachten kosten mehrere tausend Euro und stellen einen nicht unerheblichen Teil des Umsatzes einer Versicherung dar.

Die automatisierte Bildverarbeitung hat das Potential, diese Aufgabe erheblich zu vereinfachen. In den letzten Jahren hat das Forschungsfeld große Fortschritte erzielt. Grund dafür ist der Einsatz sogenannter Deep-Learning-Systeme, die auf Basis von Daten abstrakte Repräsentationen lernen, um verschiedenste Aufgaben zu lösen. Am L3S und am Institut für Informationsverarbeitung forscht Prof. Dr. Bodo Rosenhahn mit seinem Team an neuen Verfahren zur automatisierten Bildanalyse. Sie sollen zum Einsatz kommen, um Objekte und deren Eigenschaften in Bildern zu erkennen - so auch Schäden an PKW-Bauteilen.

Gemeinsam mit dem Startup ClaimBuddy, einer Ausgründung der Leibniz Universität Hannover auf dem Gebiet des digitalen Schadenmanagements, arbeiten Prof. Rosenhahn und Frederik Schubert in einem Förderprojekt daran, die Anforderungen an eine automatisierte Schadenserkennung zu erfüllen. Dazu zählt der Aufbau eines Datensatzes, um ein Deep-Learning-System zu trainieren, das die Versicherungen bei der Analyse und Bewertung der Schadensfälle unterstützen kann. Für Versicherer bietet sich so die Möglichkeit einer kostensparenden und zeiteffizienten Regulierung insbesondere von Kleinschäden. 

https://claimbuddy.de/

 

Kontakt:

Frederik Schubert

schubert@tnt.uni-hannover.de

Frederik Schubert ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am L3S und am Institut für Informationsverarbeitung. Er beschäftigt sich mit Reinforcement-Learning und der automatischen Szenenanalyse.

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bodo Rosenhahn

rosenhahn@L3S.de

Bodo Rosenhahn ist Direktor des L3S und leitet das Institut für Informationsverarbeitung. Er forscht auf den Gebieten Computer Vision und Big Data.

 

Amin Khoshandam

amin.khoshandam@claimbuddy.de

Amin Khoshandam ist Technischer Direktor bei ClaimBuddy.