Skip to main content
Date
2019-12-11
Prämierung der KI-Talente auf der TECHTIDE

Tom Wehrbein received the award "KI-Talent 2019" for his bachelor thesis "Representation of Human Motion using Neural Networks". The thesis was supervised at the Institute for Information Processing (tnt) of Leibniz Universität Hannover by L3S Director Prof. Bodo Rosenhahn and Mr. Bastian Wandt.

With this award, the Lower Saxony Ministry of Economics, Labour, Transport and Digitisation (MW) honours young scientists who have done outstanding work in the field of artificial intelligence in Lower Saxony. The prize, worth 2,000 euros, was awarded three times each in the "Economy" and "Science" categories at the TECHTIDE Conference in Hanover on 3 December.

In his bachelor thesis Tom Wehrbein developed a series of neural networks to learn an efficient representation of valid human movements. The resulting models make it possible, among other things, to detect physically plausible skeletal positions and to restore faulty ones. This can be used to capture human movements from video data more reliably and precisely - for example in interactive 3D games or in human-robot collaboration in industrial production.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Prämierung der KI-Talente auf der TECHTIDE

LUH-Student Tom Wehrbein auf der TECHTIDE als niedersächsisches KI-Talent 2019 ausgezeichnet

Date
2019-12-11

Für seine Bachelorarbeit "Representation of Human Motion using Neural Networks" erhielt Tom Wehrbein den Preis "KI-Talent 2019". Die Arbeit wurde an am Institut für Informationsverarbeitung (tnt) der Leibniz Universität Hannover von L3S-Direktor Prof. Bodo Rosenhahn und Herrn Bastian Wandt betreut.
Mit der Auszeichnung würdigt das Niedersächsische Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit, Verkehr und Digitalisierung (MW) junge Wissenschaftler, die auf dem Gebiet der künstlichen Intelligenz in Niedersachsen herausragende Arbeit geleistet haben. Die mit 2.000 Euro dotierte Auszeichnung wurde am 3. Dezember auf der TECHTIDE-Konferenz in Hannover jeweils dreimal in den Kategorien "Wirtschaft" und "Wissenschaft" verliehen.

In seiner Bachelorarbeit entwickelte Tom Wehrbein eine Reihe von neuronalen Netzen, um eine effiziente Darstellung gültiger menschlicher Bewegungen zu erlernen. Die daraus resultierenden Modelle ermöglichen es unter anderem physikalisch plausible Skelettpositionen zu erkennen und fehlerhafte wiederherzustellen. Dies kann genutzt werden, um menschliche Bewegungen aus Videodaten zuverlässiger und präziser zu erfassen - zum Beispiel in interaktiven 3D-Spielen oder in der Zusammenarbeit von Mensch und Roboter in der industriellen Produktion.