Skip to main content

It had taken almost 13 years, in 2003 the time had come: the human genome was decoded. The gigantic project swallowed up about three billion dollars. But from now on it was possible to investigate hereditary and infectious diseases as well as the molecular mechanisms of carcinogenesis in greater depth.

The emergence of parallel sequencing methods has drastically reduced costs in recent years: While the costs for sequencing a human genome in 2008 were still around one million dollars, they fell to only 1000 dollars by 2017. As a result, enormous amounts of data are generated. At the current growth rate (the amount of sequencing data doubles every seven months or so), it is expected that in 2025 alone about one zettabyte - or one billion terabytes - of sequencing data will be generated.

Reason enough for the Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG) to work on a new standard for the compression, storage and transmission of sequencing data: MPEG-G.

Since its inception over 30 years ago, MPEG has developed several generations of successful standards, including MP3 and AAC for audio and AVC/H.264, and HEVC/H.265 for video. MPEG-G is intended to make the use of sequencing data as easy as streaming an audio file or watching a film - while taking into account all data protection requirements for doctors and hospitals.

At L3S and at the Institute for Information Processing Prof. Dr. Bodo Rosenhahn, Prof. Dr. Jörn Ostermann and Jan Voges investigate how sequencing data can be compressed, stored and processed and contribute to the development of the MPEG standard. The scientists are testing the new methods in practical applications, for example for risk assessment of the human respiratory syncytial virus (RSV) - the most frequent cause of acute infections of the lower respiratory tract in infants. For the future, the researchers expect their work to be used in numerous practical studies and in personalised medicine.

 

www.L3S.de/de/projects/coding-sequencing-data

 

Contact:

 

Dipl.-Ing. Jan Voges

voges@tnt.uni-hannover.de

Jan Voges is a research associate at L3S . He deals with the application of information theory in the field of bioinformatics.

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörn Ostermann

OsterL3S.de

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörn Ostermann is a member of L3S and heads the Institute for Information Processing at Leibniz Universität Hannover. He conducts research in the field of signal processing with a focus on video, sequencing and audio data.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Deutsch

Fast 13 Jahre hatte es gedauert, im Jahr 2003 war es dann soweit: Das menschliche Genom Etwa drei Milliarden Dollar hat das gigantische Vorhaben verschlungen. Aber von nun war es möglich, insbesondere Erb- und Infektionskrankheiten sowie die molekularen Mechanismen der Krebsentstehung tiefergehend zu erforschen.

 

Durch das Aufkommen parallelisierter Sequenzierungsverfahren sind die Kosten in den letzten Jahren drastisch gesunken: Während sie für die Sequenzierung eines menschlichen Genoms im Jahr 2008 noch bei rund einer Million Dollar lagen, sanken sie bis 2017 auf nur noch 1000 Dollar. Infolgedessen werden enorme Mengen an Daten erzeugt. Bei der derzeitigen Wachstumsrate (die Menge an Sequenzierungsdaten verdoppelt sich etwa alle sieben Monate) wird erwartet, dass allein im Jahr 2025 rund ein Zettabyte – das sind eine Milliarde Terabyte – an Sequenzierungsdaten erzeugt wird.

 

 Grund genug für die Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG) an einem neuen Standard zur Komprimierung, Speicherung und Übertragung von Sequenzierungsdaten zu arbeiten: MPEG-G.

 

Seit ihrer Gründung vor über 30 Jahren hat MPEG bereits mehrere Generationen erfolgreicher Standards entwickelt: etwa MP3 und AAC für Audio- und AVC/H.264 sowie HEVC/H.265 für Videodaten. Mit MPEG-G soll die Nutzung von Sequenzierungsdaten so einfach werden wie das Streamen einer Audiodatei oder das Ansehen eines Films – und dabei alle Anforderungen an den Datenschutz für Ärzte und Kliniken berücksichtigen.

 

Am L3S und am Institut für Informationsverarbeitung erforschen Prof. Dr. Bodo Rosenhahn, Prof. Dr. Jörn Ostermann und Jan Voges, wie Sequenzierungsdaten komprimiert, gespeichert und verarbeitet werden können und tragen zur Entwicklung des MPEG-Standards bei. Die neuen Verfahren testen die Wissenschaftler im Praxiseinsatz, zum Beispiel zur Risikobewertung des humanen respiratorischen Synzytial-Virus (RSV) – der häufigsten Ursache für akute Infektionen der unteren Atemwege bei Säuglingen. Für die Zukunft erwarten die Forscher, dass ihre Arbeiten in zahlreichen praktischen Studien und in der personalisierten Medizin zum Einsatz kommen.

 

www.L3S.de/de/projects/coding-sequencing-data

 

Kontakt:

 

Dipl.-Ing. Jan Voges

voges@tnt.uni-hannover.de

Jan Voges ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am L3S . Er beschäftigt sich mit der Anwendung der Informationstheorie im Bereich der Bioinformatik.

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörn Ostermann

Ostermann@L3S.de

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörn Ostermann ist Mitglied des L3S und leitet das Institut für Informationsverarbeitung der Leibniz Universität Hannover. Er forscht auf dem Gebiet der Signalverarbeitung mit Fokus auf Video-, Sequenzierungs- und Audiodaten.