Skip to main content

Digital technologies are often described as tools. The idea is that digital tools support users in organizations in a variety of ways: They help to make better and safer decisions, facilitate networking and cooperation and support us in coping with complexity. In a way, the tool is waiting to be used. The crux of the matter is that the talk of digital tools is misguided because it assumes that users are the real actors. This clear constellation of human subject and technical object is not very durable; doubts about it do not only exist since the discussion about autonomous driving. The exciting question is: If digital technologies are not (anymore) tools, what are they? So how can the distribution of roles between humans and digital technology be described in a more nuanced and appropriate way and how can clear dividing lines not be drawn beforehand, as the concepts of tools or users do?

At the L3S, junior professor Dr. Stefanie Büchner is setting up the Digital Cases research group, which is investigating exactly this question. At the interface of sociology, science and technology studies and computer science, three staff members will be investigating how complex digital infrastructures shape daily work in organisations from May 2020. For the first time, Stefanie Büchner and her research group use an organization-comparative approach and accompany employees in a hospital, a court and a social service in their work with case management systems. Similar to SAP, these infrastructures shape everyday life in organizations in many, often contradictory ways. Instead of looking for a new compact formula as an alternative to the tool metaphor, the researchers will analyze different forms of joint structuring of work practices. What are the different forms and patterns of distributed action in the treatment of patients, the processing of cases, and the provision of educational assistance? Which similarities, for example in the handling of warning messages or the tracking of work activities, can be found across all cases? And how does this change the relationship between organisation and profession?

The project is supported by a free-minded fellowship of the Volkswagen Foundation.

 

Contact:

Junior Prof. Dr. Stefanie Büchner

Buechner@L3S.de

L3S member Stefanie Büchner is currently a visiting researcher at the Department of Informatics at the University of California in Irvine. She is a junior professor at the Instituteof Sociology at Leibniz Universität Hannover and a member of the Young Academy.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Deutsch

Digitale Technologien werden ja oft als Werkzeuge oder Tools beschrieben. Digitale Tools, so die Idee, unterstützen User in Organisationen auf vielfältige Weise: Sie helfen, bessere und sicherere Entscheidungen zu treffen, erleichtern Vernetzung und Kooperation und unterstützen uns bei der Bewältigung von Komplexität. Das Werkzeug wartet gewissermaßen auf seinen Gebrauch. Der Knackpunkt ist nur: Die Rede vom digitalen Werkzeug geht fehl, unterstellt sie doch den Nutzern, die eigentlichen Handelnden zu sein. Diese übersichtliche Konstellation von menschlichem Subjekt und technischem Objekt ist wenig haltbar; Zweifel daran bestehen nicht erst seit der Diskussion um autonomes Fahren. Die spannende Frage ist: Wenn digitale Technologien keine Werkzeuge (mehr) sind, was sind sie dann? Wie kann man also die Rollenverteilung zwischen Mensch und digitaler Technik nuancierter und angemessener beschreiben und nicht schon im Vorfeld klare Trennlinien ziehen, wie es die Begriffe des Werkzeugs oder der Nutzer tun?

Am L3S baut Juniorprofessorin Dr. Stefanie Büchner die Forschungsgruppe Digital Cases auf, die genau dieser Frage nachgeht. An der Schnittstelle von Soziologie, Science and Technology Studies und Informatik werden ab Mai 2020 drei Mitarbeiter untersuchen, wie komplexe digitale Infrastrukturen die tägliche Arbeit in Organisationen prägen. Stefanie Büchner und ihre Forschungsgruppe greifen dazu erstmals auf einen organisationsvergleichenden Ansatz zurück und begleiten Mitarbeiter in einem Krankenhaus, einem Gericht und einem Sozialen Dienst bei ihrer Arbeit mit Fallmanagementsystemen. Ähnlich wie SAP prägen diese Infrastrukturen den Alltag in Organisationen auf vielfältige, oft widersprüchliche Weise. Statt nach einer neuen Kompaktformel als Alternative zur Werkzeugmetapher zu suchen, werden die Forscher unterschiedliche Formen der gemeinsamen Strukturierung von Arbeitsvollzügen analysieren. Welche unterschiedlichen Formen und Muster von verteilter Handlungsträgerschaft zeigen sich in der Behandlung von Patienten, dem Prozessieren von Fällen und der Gewährung von Hilfen zur Erziehung? Welche Gemeinsamkeiten, zum Beispiel im Umgang mit Warnmeldungen oder dem Tracking von Arbeitsaktivitäten, zeigen sich fallübergreifend? Und wie verändert sich dadurch das Verhältnis von Organisation und Profession?

Das Projekt wird durch ein Freigeist-Fellowship der VolkswagenStiftung gefördert.

 

Kontakt:

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Stefanie Büchner

Buechner@L3S.de

L3S-Mitglied Stefanie Büchner ist zurzeit Gastwissenschaftlerin am Department of Informatics der University of California in Irvine. Sie ist Juniorprofessorin am Institut für Soziologie der Leibniz Universität Hannover und Mitglied der Jungen Akademie.