Skip to main content

Whether patient care or more efficient procedures and communication processes: The use of digital technology offers many opportunities for improvement in everyday hospital life. But the work in the hospital is not an office job - at least not only. The digitisation of work organisation therefore faces particular challenges.

During a conversation, an operation or therapy, the full attention of the clinic staff must be focused on the patient. But in order to retrieve digital data on patients, appointments or resources, employees still need a classic computer workstation. As attention moves from the patient to the screen, the workflow is interrupted each time. Concentration suffers, efficiency drops. A voice-controlled dialogue system that does not distract from the actual task would therefore be better.

Despite great progress, current dialogue systems cannot cope with the organisational complexity of everyday hospital life. Therefore, scientists at the L3S have set themselves the goal, in close cooperation with Magrathea Informatik GmbH, to enable voice-controlled communication between staff and the hospital database developed by Magrathea. Employees should be able to make enquiries intuitively and receive appropriate answers in a given situation. For this it is necessary to integrate the clinic database into the dialog system. The system uses the database to answer the queries and place them in context. So even complex dialogues are possible.

The clinic database contains sensitive patient data. In developing the dialogue system, particular attention will therefore be paid to data protection. It is therefore essential to process the requests completely locally - from speech recognition to answer generation.

 

www. L3S.de/en/projects/maggie

 

Contact:

Lars Rumberg, M.Sc.

Rumberg@tnt.uni-hannover.de

Lars Rumberg is a research assistant at L3S and at the Institute for Information Processing at Leibniz Universität Hannover. He deals with machine learning for speech recognition and speech processing.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Deutsch

Ob Patientenversorgung oder effizientere Abläufe und Kommunikationsprozesse: Im Klinikalltag bietet die Nutzung digitaler Technik viele Chancen zur Verbesserung. Aber die Arbeit im Krankenhaus ist kein Bürojob – jedenfalls nicht nur. Die Digitalisierung der Arbeitsorganisation steht daher vor besonderen Herausforderungen.

 

Bei einem Gespräch, einer Operation oder Therapie muss die volle Aufmerksamkeit des Klinikpersonals den Patienten gelten. Um aber digitale Daten zu Patienten, Terminen oder Ressourcen abzufragen, benötigen die Mitarbeiter noch immer einen klassischen Bildschirmarbeitsplatz. Wenn die Aufmerksamkeit vom Patienten zum Bildschirm wandert, wird jedes Mal der Arbeitsablauf unterbrochen. Die Konzentration leidet, die Effizienz sinkt. Besser wäre daher ein sprachgesteuertes Dialogsystem, das nicht von der eigentlichen Aufgabe ablenkt.

 

Trotz großer Fortschritte können aktuelle Dialogsysteme mit der organisatorischen Komplexität des Klinikalltags nicht umgehen. Daher haben sich Wissenschaftler am L3S zum Ziel gesetzt, in enger Kooperation mit der Magrathea Informatik GmbH eine sprachgesteuerte Kommunikation zwischen Personal und der von Magrathea entwickelten Klinikdatenbank zu ermöglichen. Die Mitarbeiter sollen intuitiv Anfragen stellen können und situationsbezogen angemessene Antworten erhalten. Dafür ist es notwendig, die Klinikdatenbank in das Dialogsystem einzubinden. Das System nutzt die Datenbank, um die Anfragen zu beantworten und in einen Kontext zu stellen. So sind auch kompexe Dialoge möglich. 

 

Die Klinikdatenbank enthält sensible Patientendaten. Bei der Entwicklung des Dialogsystems gilt dem Datenschutz also ein besonderes Augenmerk. Daher ist es unumgänglich, die Anfragen vollständig lokal zu verarbeiten - von der Spracherkennung bis zur Generierung der Antwort.

 

www.L3S.de/de/projects/maggie

 

Kontakt:

Lars Rumberg, M. Sc.

Rumberg@tnt.uni-hannover.de

Lars Rumberg ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am L3S und am Institut für Informationsverarbeitung der Leibniz Universität Hannover. Er beschäftigt sich mit Machine-Learning für Spracherkennung und Sprachverarbeitung.