Skip to main content

Everyone knows it: you meet with friends in a restaurant and despite the conversations of other guests it is easy to understand each other. What is natural for people with normal hearing is a major problem for people with a cochlear implant (CI).

 

Cochlear implants restore hearing to deaf people through direct stimulation of the auditory nerve. While speech comprehension works well in quiet situations, considerable background noise makes it impossible for CI wearers to understand the person they are talking to.

 

In such situations, binaural signal processing strategies (BSS) can improve speech understanding. BSS use auditory information from the CIs exchanged between both ears. For aesthetic reasons, only a wireless connection can be used. However, since cochlear implants use batteries for power supply, the energy available for the necessary data exchange is severely limited. In addition, it is necessary to transmit the data with as little delay as possible so that no echo effects occur and the BSS can be used efficiently.

 

In order to solve the problem of low latency and low bit rate of information exchange between CIs, scientists at the L3S are researching a signal compression system that - unlike conventional compression methods - does not use the input signal of the cochlear implants, but instead uses the excitation patterns of the CIs, which contain the essential information of the auditory impression in a compact form.

 

The methods developed will be tested on CI users together with the German Hearing Centre in Hanover and will in future be used in conjunction with a BSS developed there under the direction of Prof. Dr-Ing. Waldo Nogueira.

 

www.L3S.de/de/projects/signalkompression-ci

 

Contact us

Reemt Hinrichs, Mr. Sc.

hinrichs@tnt.uni-hannover.de

Reemt Hinrichs is a research assistant at L3S and at the Institute of Information Processing. He deals with data compression and its applications in the field of biosignal processing.

 

 

Picture caption(s) with indication of source (rights of use must exist):

(a) Binaural signal processing is disabled and speech understanding is reduced due to background noise.

(b) By transmitting and using the excitation patterns of the left ear to the right ear, speech comprehension is improved.

 

Source: Noun Project/own editing

https://bit.ly/2YdMGy; https://bit.ly/2ykIZIq; https://bit.ly/2K9RWtH; https://bit.ly/2YvEzgp

Direkt zum Inhalt
Deutsch

Jeder kennt es: Man trifft sich mit Freunden in einem Restaurant und trotz der Gespräche anderer Gäste ist es leicht möglich sich gegenseitig zu verstehen. Was für normalhörende Menschen selbstverständlich ist, ist für Menschen mit einem Cochlea-Implantat (CI) ein großes Problem.

 

Cochlea-Implantate geben gehörlosen Menschen durch die direkte Stimulation des Hörnervs das Hörempfinden zurück. Während in ruhigen Situationen das Sprachverständnis problemlos funktioniert, wird es bei beträchtlichen Hintergrundgeräuschen für CI-Träger unmöglich, den Gesprächspartner zu verstehen.

 

In solchen Situationen können binaurale Signalverarbeitungsstrategien (BSS) das Sprachverstehen verbessern. BSS nutzen auditorische Informationen der CIs, die zwischen beiden Ohren ausgetauscht werden. Aus ästhetischen Gründen kommt dafür nur eine drahtlose Verbindung infrage. Da Cochlea-Implantate jedoch Batterien zur Energieversorgung nutzen, ist die für den notwendigen Datenaustausch zur Verfügung stehende Energie stark limitiert. Zudem ist es notwendig, die Daten mit möglichst geringer Verzögerung zu übertragen, damit keine Echoeffekte auftreten und die BSS effizient eingesetzt werden können.

 

Um das Problem geringer Latenz und niedriger Bit-Rate des Informationsaustausches zwischen CIs zu lösen, forschen Wissenschaftler des L3S an einer Signalkompression, die   anders als übliche Kompressionsverfahren nicht das Eingangssignal der Cochlea-Implantate nutzt, sondern bei den Erregungsmustern der CIs ansetzt, die in kompakter Form die wesentlichen Informationen des Höreindrucks enthalten.

 

Die entwickelten Methoden werden gemeinsam mit dem Deutschen Hörzentrum Hannover an CI-Nutzern erprobt und zukünftig im Verbund mit einer dort unter Leitung von Prof. Dr-Ing. Waldo Nogueira entwickelten BSS eingesetzt.

 

www.L3S.de/de/projects/signalkompression-ci

 

Kontakt

Reemt Hinrichs, M. Sc.

hinrichs@tnt.uni-hannover.de

Reemt Hinrichs ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am L3S und am Institut für Informationsverarbeitung. Er beschäftigt sich mit Datenkompression und dessen Anwendungen im Bereich der Biosignalverarbeitung.

 

 

Bildunterschrift(en) mit Quellenangabe (Nutzungsrechte müssen vorhanden sein):

(a) Die binaurale Signalverarbeitung ist deaktiviert und das Sprachverstehen ist auf Grund einer Geräuschkulisse vermindert.

(b) Durch  Übermittlung und Verwendung der Erregungsmuster des linken Ohres an das rechte ist das Sprachverstehen verbessert.

 

Quelle: Noun Project/eigene Bearbeitung

https://bit.ly/2YdMGy; https://bit.ly/2ykIZIq; https://bit.ly/2K9RWtH; https://bit.ly/2YvEzgp