Skip to main content

Some bacteria like to live in community. They settle together on surfaces and surround themselves with a protective layer of slime. Such a biofilm can also form on organs and implants, such as knee and hip prostheses or dental and cochlear implants. There, the bacteria can trigger dangerous infections that are hardly treatable. In the mucus layer, the bacteria are protected from attacks by the immune system and even from the effects of antibiotics. Biofilm-associated infections are therefore one of the greatest challenges facing medicine.

 

In the BacData project, MHH and L3S scientists will work together to understand the biology and dynamics of clinically relevant biofilms and to decipher their resistance mechanisms. This is made possible by the combination of modern technologies from biology and computer science. With Omics technologies, scientists can comprehensively examine the entire genome, transcriptome or proteome of a cell. This generates very large amounts of data that can be analysed using deep learning methods. For example, the sequence data of a bacterium can be used to predict resistance to a specific drug.

 

In the BacData project, the researchers are investigating two clinically highly relevant biofilm associated infections: the lung infection in cystic fibrosis patients caused by Pseudomonas bacteria and the implant infection as an example of frequently occurring multi-species biofilm infections. The results are incorporated into the development and clinical translation of new diagnostic and personalized therapy strategies. BacData is intended to improve the prognosis of patients suffering from biofilm-associated infections in the long term and, in addition, to create the basis for a personalised therapy of further infectious diseases.

 

Contact:

Damianos Melidis

Melidis@L3S.de

 

Damianos Melidis is a PhD student at L3S and researches in data streams, data mining, machine learning and bioinformatics.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Deutsch

Manche Bakterien leben gerne in Gemeinschaft. Sie siedeln sich zusammen auf Oberflächen an und umgeben sich mit einer schützenden Schleimschicht. Ein solcher Biofilm kann sich auch auf Organen und Implantaten bilden, etwa auf Knie- und Hüftgelenkprothesen oder Zahn- und Cochlea-Implantaten. Dort können die Bakterien gefährliche Infektionen auslösen, die kaum therapierbar sind. Denn in der Schleimschicht sind die Bakterien vor Angriffen des Immunsystems und selbst vor der Wirkung von Antibiotika geschützt. Biofilm-assoziierte Infektionen gehören daher zu den größten Herausforderungen der Medizin.

 

Im Projekt BacData werden Wissenschaftler der MHH und des L3S gemeinsam daran arbeiten, die Biologie und Dynamik klinisch relevanter Biofilme zu verstehen und ihre Resistenzmechanismen zu entschlüsseln. Möglich wird dies durch die Kombination moderner Technologien aus der Biologie und der Informatik. Mit Omics-Technologien können Wissenschaftler das gesamte Genom, Transkriptom oder Proteom einer Zelle umfassend untersuchen. Dadurch werden sehr große Mengen an Daten gewonnen, die mit Deep-Learning-Methoden analysiert werden können. So lässt sich zum Beispiel anhand von Sequenzdaten eines Bakteriums die Resistenz gegenüber einem bestimmten Medikament vorhersagen.

 

Im BacData-Projekt nehmen sich die Forscher zwei klinisch hochrelevante Biofilm-assoziierte Infektionen vor: die durch Pseudomonas-Bakterien verursachte Lungeninfektion bei Mukoviszidose-Patienten und die Implantatinfektion als Beispiel für häufig auftretende Multispeziesbiofilm-Infektionen. Die Ergebnisse fließen in die Entwicklung und klinische Translation neuer diagnostischer und personalisierter Therapiestrategien ein. BacData soll die Prognose der an Biofilm-assoziierten Infektionen erkrankten Patienten nachhaltig verbessern und darüber hinaus die Grundlage für eine personalisierte Therapie weiterer Infektionserkrankungen schaffen.

 

Kontakt:

Damianos Melidis

Melidis@L3S.de

 

Damianos Melidis ist Doktorand am L3S und forscht im Bereich Datenströme, Data Mining, Machine-Learning und Bioinformatik.