Skip to main content

Traffic jams and overcrowded lanes at peak times, looking for a parking space or unexpected construction sites: The city traffic can get on your nerves. The increasing availability of data and new analysis methods could make life easier for road users in the future.

Open data can help to better understand mobility and make it more efficient. However, answers to complex questions can only be provided by analysing many heterogeneous data sources - in this case geographical information, weather data, construction site information, traffic warning messages and movement data of road users. Some of this information is freely available thanks to open sources such as OpenStreetMap or the Wikidata knowledge graph, while others, especially movement data of road users, are very limited.

In the research project Data4UrbanMobility - Data-based Mobility Services for the City of the Future (D4UM), scientists at L3S and project partners are developing tools that provide an event-based overview of mobility information in order to efficiently plan, develop, implement and use mobility services. In particular, the question of how the influence of major events on urban mobility can be predicted using machine learning (ML) methods will be addressed. In order to provide contextual information on the events in the city, the scientists are developing methods that automatically link heterogeneous data sources such as OpenStreetMap and Wikidata. The results from the example of Hanover show that it is very easy to predict the traffic situation at recurring major events such as concerts or football matches.

An efficient application of current ML procedures requires a very high level of expert knowledge, which stands in the way of widespread use. In the Simple-ML project, L3S scientists are therefore working on the question of how the application of ML methods can be significantly simplified. The results will be validated for the scenarios "Mobility in the city" and "Logistics" together with users from industry.

http://data4urbanmobility.L3S.uni-hannover.de

<font color="#ffff00">Sync by honeybunny <font color="#ffff00">http://simple-ml.de

 

Contact:

Dr. Elena Demidova

Demidova@L3S.de

Elena Demidova is a research group leader at the L3S and is engaged in data science and information retrieval. She coordinates the projects D4UM and Simple-ML.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Deutsch

Staus und überfüllte Bahnen zu Stoßzeiten, Parkplatzsuche oder ungeahnte Baustellen: Der Stadtverkehr kann ganz schön auf die Nerven gehen. Die steigende Verfügbarkeit von Daten sowie neue Analysemethoden könnten den Verkehrsteilnehmer das Leben in Zukunft erleichtern.

Offene Daten können helfen, Mobilität besser zu verstehen und effizienter zu gestalten. Antworten auf komplexe Fragestellungen liefert aber erst die Analyse vieler heterogener Datenquellen - in diesem Fall geographische Informationen, Wetterdaten, Baustelleninformationen, Verkehrswarnmeldungen sowie Bewegungsdaten der Verkehrsteilnehmer. Einige dieser Informationen sind dank offener Quellen wie OpenStreetMap oder dem Wikidata-Wissensgraph frei verfügbar, während andere, insbesondere Bewegungsdaten der Verkehrsteilnehmer, nur sehr eingeschränkt vorhanden sind.

Im Forschungsprojekt Data4UrbanMobility - Datenbasierte Mobilitätsdienstleistungen für die Stadt der Zukunft (D4UM) entwickeln Wissenschaftler am L3S gemeinsam mit Projektpartnern Werkzeuge, die einen ereignisbasierten Überblick über Mobilitätsinformationen liefern, um Mobilitätsdienstleistungen effizient planen, entwickeln, durchführen und nutzen zu können.  Insbesondere geht es um die Frage, wie sich der Einfluss von Großveranstaltungen auf die urbane Mobilität mit Methoden des maschinellen Lernens (ML) vorhersagen lässt. Um Kontextinformationen zu den Ereignissen in der Stadt bieten zu können, entwickeln die Wissenschaftler Methoden, die heterogene Datenquellen wie OpenStreetMap und Wikidata automatisch verlinken. Die Ergebnisse am Beispiel Hannover zeigen, dass eine Vorhersage der Verkehrssituation bei wiederkehrenden Großveranstaltungen wie Konzerten oder Fußballspielen sehr gut möglich ist.

Eine effiziente Anwendung aktueller ML-Verfahren erfordert ein sehr hohes Maß an Expertenwissen, was einer verbreiteten Nutzung im Wege steht. Im Projekt Simple-ML befassen sich L3S-Wissenschaftler deshalb mit der Frage, wie die Anwendung von ML-Verfahren signifikant vereinfacht werden kann. Die Ergebnisse werden für die Szenarien „Mobilität in der Stadt“ und „Logistik“ gemeinsam mit Anwendern aus der Wirtschaft validiert.

http://data4urbanmobility.L3S.uni-hannover.de

http://simple-ml.de

 

Kontakt:

Dr. Elena Demidova

Demidova@L3S.de

Elena Demidova ist Forschungsgruppenleiterin am L3S und beschäftigt sich mit Data-Science und Information-Retrieval. Sie koordiniert die Projekte D4UM und Simple-ML.