Skip to main content
Date
2023-01-11
MediaFuture 3rd Cohort

Start-ups and artists work on tackling misinformation on the internet


MediaFutures is a European data innovation hub in the media industry, in which the L3S is also involved. Now, 24 new creative projects have been selected to participate in the accelerator programme for start-ups and SMEs or the residency programme for artists. Winners will receive a grant of up to 40 000 euros (artists) or up to 80 000 euros (start-ups), as well as expert advice and support to reshape the media value chain.

In June 2022, MediaFutures launched the third and final Open Call focusing on online misinformation. Projects were sought that actively involve citizens in project development through co-design, user testing or other participatory processes. The open call ended on 30 August with 99 applications from 32 countries. All applications were evaluated by a jury composed of MediaFutures organisations and external experts. Five projects from the Artists for Media programme were selected, as well as 19 projects from the Startup for Citizens and Startup meets Artist programmes, which supports artists and startups to collaborate on a project.

Alexandra Garatzogianni, Coordinator of MediaFutures, says: “At MediaFutures, we are delighted and honoured to collaborate with our third and final cohort, coupling the expertise, experience and networks of all consortium partners, with the novel, richly diverse and cutting-edge cohort projects, that address multi-faceted angles of the evolving media, art and tech landscape. Our joint, strong focus remains on striving to break new ground in the domains of online misinformation and disinformation and enabling our cohort to flourish, grow and thrive”.

https://www.l3s.de/en/projects/mediafutures

 

These 24 projects were selected for programme participation:

 

Artists for Media

The following projects join the artist residency programme.

Ctrl. Alt. Img. Through an interactive installation, the project asks how to use data and dialogue to harness collective knowledge to arrive at an alternative approach to the way underrepresented groups are portrayed in the media and how this informs the way images are generated by machines and used.

Sock Puppet Theater. An interactive media artwork featuring animatronic sock puppets that speak the words of social media posts from sock puppet accounts known to have engaged in disinformation campaigns. Sock puppets are imposter social media accounts created to infiltrate groups, surveil, provoke, and spread disinformation.

Honest Signals. Honest Signals will reinforce the importance of high-quality media and also the need for citizens to critically engage with the information that is shared via social media platforms. The data focus for the residency project is climate disinformation where the cost of a polluted information ecosystem is a failure to take the urgent action needed to save the planet.

Mining Hate. Mining Hate is an improvised interactive performance built with audience generated content that seeks to create awareness of the practices used by anonymous hackers to target female journalists and minorities in India to spread misinformation.

Trolls vs Elves. I-Doc. "Trolls vs Elves" i-doc is a synergy between a documentary film and a game. It delves into the issue of disinformation online in the context of Ukrainian refugees, investigating the operations of internet trolls and activists called Cyber Elves.

 

Startup for Citizens

The following projects join the startup accelerator programme.

Disinformation Early Warning Data Tool (DEWARD). DEWARD is a citizen-informed data-driven service that provides fact-checking organisations, researchers, and other stakeholders with timely information about emerging and potential disinformation campaigns relating to gender, migration, and climate change.

Online Debate for Impact. The project aims to empower readers to counter disinformation and misinformation in online discussion by allowing them to fact check their comments before they post them on the debating platform for media sites.

Overtone: Misinformation based on Article DNA. Overtone provides insight by looking at the qualities of the text itself, rather than tertiary metrics such as clicks and shares. It uses the advances in NLP to make the type of data that teams of analysts could generate available to media companies.

POLLTIX: REDUCING POLARISATION THROUGH CONSENSUS-BUILDING. A new type of public consultation which aims to address the central issue behind the proliferation of disinformation. It will allow the public sector stakeholders to ask open-ended questions, while citizens will be able to submit their own answers and rate answers submitted by others.

Queering the Quantified Self. A platform for citizens to create, own and analyse information about our bodies. It proposes an alternative: the users who make the data are the ones who own it; the communities who need the research run analyses themselves.

Questvertising as an alternative for hard paywalls that keeps the reliable content open to the general public. The "moneyless paywall" solution is a combination of advertising and a content gate in which users "pay" by answering a question, usually concerning the ad, what generates a significant income for publishers. In return for the answer, the user gets access to the rest of the article.

RainbowRights.eu (RR). RR is the European platform that monitors the situation of LGBTQ+ rights in the European continent and makes the data behind this accessible to citizens. The platform will monitor the current state and the evolution of LGBTQ+ rights starting from 2013 across 7 thematic domains.

Veïns - Neighbours. A conversational mobile game that allows the crowdsourcing of data about intercultural stereotypes and rumours at the local level by collecting information from all in-game interactions

Viriditas - Screen every investment for climate change risk. Viriditas makes the process for screening investment funds and companies easier than ever before: users can see a particular fund or company’s risk level and view additional indicators that help to understand why the risk level is as it is, and news articles to show potential for improvement or signs of greenwashing.

 

Startup meets Artist

The following projects join the collaborative programme for joint startup and artist teams.

Blind Spots. An interactive audio walk which adapts dynamically to changing real world parameters. It focuses on cognitive biases and how they make us vulnerable to misinformation and manipulation. The audio walk draws the audience's attention to the extent to which cognitive biases shape their everyday lives.

Dark Listening: Deconstructing Coercive Content Discovery in Music. Identities — like music — should be discovered, not assigned. A company that makes its money from advertising benefits from a customer base that fits neatly into algorithmic boxes that can be easily targeted with advertising and cultural messaging.

Dataware. Dataware is a data awareness tool and art installation, conceived as an initiative to raise awareness of the impacts of climate change in urban context through the medium of data art. This awareness-raising is oriented towards the most disadvantaged social and economic groups of citizens to decrease the risks resulting from the impact of extreme weather events.

Head Radio. The project addresses the challenge of online misinformation and disinformation by creating an educational experience as a board game. The goal is to achieve engagement and empathy through gamification and storytelling rather than presenting dry facts and numbers.

I (be)come. An online theatre performance with which the audience can interact by using polarising sliders that have statements they can choose from. The aim is to emphasise how we both collectively and individually (in the hands of AI data analysis) participate in the change of online media content.

Ekometic DUBB•E. Technology and art project grounded on the idea that data is a malleable material that can be transformed and transmuted into a variety of media beyond the conventional, silent, representations such as charts, maps, graphs and static images in general.

Faking News: video discussions about post-truth. The project aims to look behind the scenes of fake news and misinformation by bringing together a diverse set of stakeholders in interactive video discussions. It involves artists, scientists, media experts, politicians and the general public to analyse post-truth narratives and co-develop micro mockumentaries for educational purposes.

Metagraffiti. The project will build and position large scale digital artworks that can be experienced through Augmented Reality technology: the artworks will appear when 5 selected media/new-media headquarters physical buildings around European cities will be scanned through a smart-phone.

RELU - dancing with REaL and Unreal. This project sees immersive and virtual media technology as an opportunity to address disinformation, misrepresentation and stigmatisation of disability in mainstream media by tackling obstacles to access and visibility for both physically disabled and neurodivergent people.

“SOMEONE MUST HAVE BEEN TELLING LIES…”. The project will address misinformation and disinformation by creating pathways for marginalised people and communities to find, create and use data to build community power.

 

For more information about each project, please visit: https://mediafutures.eu/projects/

For more information on the MediaFutures programme:

 

EU

The MediaFutures project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 951962.

 The information reflects the author’s views. The European Commission is not liable for any use that may be made of the information contained therein.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Date
2023-01-11
MediaFuture 3rd Cohort

Start-ups und Künstler arbeiten an der Bekämpfung von Falschinformationen im Internet

MediaFutures ist ein europäischer Accelerator für Dateninnovation in der Medienbranche, an dem auch das L3S beteiligt ist. Nun stehen 24 neue kreative Projekte fest, die am Accelerator-Programm für Start-ups und KMU oder am Residency-Programm für Künstler teilnehmen werden. Die Gewinner erhalten einen Zuschuss von bis zu 40 000 Euro (Künstler) beziehungsweise bis zu 80 000 Euro (Start-ups), außerdem Beratung und Unterstützung durch Experten, um die Wertschöpfungskette im Medienbereich neu zu gestalten.

Im Juni 2022 startete MediaFutures den dritten und letzten Open Call mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Online-Fehlinformationen. Gesucht wurden Projekte, die Bürgerinnen und Bürger durch Co-Design, Nutzertests oder andere partizipative Prozesse aktiv in die Projektentwicklung einbeziehen. Der offene Aufruf endete am 30. August mit 99 Bewerbungen aus 32 Ländern. Alle Bewerbungen wurden von einer Jury bewertet, die sich aus MediaFutures-Organisationen und externen Experten zusammensetzt. Ausgewählt wurden fünf Projekte des Programms „Artists for Media“ sowie 19 Projekte aus den Programmen „Startup for Citizens“ und „Startup meets Artist“.

Alexandra Garatzogianni, Koordinatorin von MediaFutures, sagt: "Wir bei MediaFutures sind erfreut und fühlen uns geehrt, mit unserer dritten und letzten Kohorte zusammenzuarbeiten, die das Fachwissen, die Erfahrung und die Netzwerke aller Konsortialpartner mit den neuen, vielfältigen und innovativen Projekten der Kohorte verbindet, die sich mit den vielfältigen Aspekten der sich entwickelnden Medien-, Kunst- und Technologielandschaft befassen. Unser gemeinsamer Schwerpunkt liegt nach wie vor darauf, neue Wege in den Bereichen Online-Fehlinformation und Desinformation zu beschreiten und unserer Kohorte zu ermöglichen, sich zu entfalten, zu wachsen und zu gedeihen".

https://www.l3s.de/de/projects/mediafutures

 

Diese 24 Projekte wurden für die Programmteilnahme ausgewählt:

 

Artists for Media

Die folgenden Projekte nehmen am Residenzprogramm für Künstler teil:

Ctrl. Alt. Img. Durch eine interaktive Installation stellt das Projekt die Frage, wie Daten und Dialog genutzt werden können, um kollektives Wissen zu nutzen, um einen alternativen Ansatz für die Art und Weise zu finden, wie unterrepräsentierte Gruppen in den Medien dargestellt werden, und wie dies die Art und Weise beeinflusst, wie Bilder von Maschinen erzeugt und verwendet werden.

Sock Puppet Theatre. Ein interaktives Medienkunstwerk mit animatronischen Sockenpuppen, die die Worte von Social-Media-Posts von Sockenpuppen-Accounts sprechen, die bekanntermaßen an Desinformationskampagnen beteiligt sind. Sockenpuppen sind gefälschte Social-Media-Konten, die geschaffen wurden, um Gruppen zu infiltrieren, zu überwachen, zu provozieren und Desinformationen zu verbreiten.

Honest Signals. Honest Signals unterstreicht die Bedeutung qualitativ hochwertiger Medien und die Notwendigkeit für die Bürger, sich kritisch mit den Informationen auseinanderzusetzen, die über soziale Medienplattformen verbreitet werden. Der Datenschwerpunkt des Aufenthaltsprojekts ist die Desinformation über den Klimawandel, wobei der Preis für ein verschmutztes Informationsökosystem darin besteht, dass die dringend erforderlichen Maßnahmen zur Rettung des Planeten nicht ergriffen werden.

Mining Hate. Mining Hate ist eine improvisierte interaktive Performance mit vom Publikum generierten Inhalten, die das Bewusstsein für die Praktiken anonymer Hacker schärfen soll, die es auf Journalistinnen und Minderheiten in Indien abgesehen haben, um Fehlinformationen zu verbreiten.

Trolls vs Elves. I-Doc. "Trolls vs. Elves" i-doc ist eine Synergie zwischen einem Dokumentarfilm und einem Spiel. Er befasst sich mit dem Problem der Desinformation im Internet im Zusammenhang mit ukrainischen Flüchtlingen und untersucht die Aktivitäten von Internet-Trollen und Aktivisten, die Cyber-Elfen genannt werden.

 

Startup for Citizens

Die folgenden Projekte nehmen am Startup-Programm teil:

Disinformation Early Warning Data Tool (DEWARD). DEWARD ist ein datengestützter Dienst, der Faktenprüfungsorganisationen, Forschern und anderen Akteuren rechtzeitig Informationen über entstehende und potenzielle Desinformationskampagnen in den Bereichen Gender, Migration und Klimawandel liefert.

Online Debate for Impact. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, Leser in die Lage zu versetzen, Desinformationen und Fehlinformationen in Online-Diskussionen entgegenzuwirken, indem sie ihre Kommentare auf Fakten überprüfen können, bevor sie sie auf der Debattenplattform für Medienseiten veröffentlichen.

Overtone: Misinformation based on Article DNA. Overtone bietet Einblicke, indem es die Qualitäten des Textes selbst betrachtet, anstatt tertiäre Metriken wie Klicks und Anteile. Es nutzt die Fortschritte im NLP, um Medienunternehmen die Art von Daten zur Verfügung zu stellen, die Teams von Analysten generieren könnten.

POLLTIX: REDUCING POLARISATION THROUGH CONSENSUS-BUILDING. Eine neue Art der öffentlichen Konsultation, die darauf abzielt, das zentrale Problem hinter der Verbreitung von Desinformation anzugehen. Es wird den Akteuren des öffentlichen Sektors ermöglichen, offene Fragen zu stellen, während die Bürger ihre eigenen Antworten einreichen und die Antworten anderer bewerten können.

Queering the Quantified Self. Eine Plattform für Bürger, um Informationen über unsere Körper zu erstellen, zu besitzen und zu analysieren. Sie schlägt eine Alternative vor: Die Nutzer, die die Daten erstellen, sind diejenigen, die sie besitzen; die Gemeinschaften, die die Forschung benötigen, führen die Analysen selbst durch.

Questvertising as an alternative for hard paywalls that keeps the reliable content open to the general public. Die "Moneyless Paywall"-Lösung ist eine Kombination aus Werbung und einem Content-Gate, bei dem die Nutzer durch die Beantwortung einer Frage "bezahlen", die sich in der Regel auf die Anzeige bezieht, was den Herausgebern erhebliche Einnahmen verschafft. Im Gegenzug für die Antwort erhält der Nutzer Zugang zum Rest des Artikels.

RainbowRights.eu (RR). RR ist die europäische Plattform, die die Situation der LGBTQ+-Rechte auf dem europäischen Kontinent überwacht und die dahinter stehenden Daten den Bürgern zugänglich macht. Die Plattform wird den aktuellen Stand und die Entwicklung der Rechte von LGBTQ+ ab 2013 in 7 Themenbereichen überwachen.

Veïns - Neighbours. Ein mobiles Konversationsspiel, das das Crowdsourcing von Daten über interkulturelle Stereotypen und Gerüchte auf lokaler Ebene ermöglicht, indem es Informationen aus allen Interaktionen im Spiel sammelt

Viriditas – Screen every investment for climate change risk. Viriditas macht das Screening von Investmentfonds und Unternehmen einfacher als je zuvor: Die Nutzer können das Risikoniveau eines bestimmten Fonds oder Unternehmens einsehen und zusätzliche Indikatoren anzeigen, die helfen zu verstehen, warum das Risikoniveau so hoch ist, sowie Nachrichtenartikel, die Verbesserungspotenzial oder Anzeichen von Greenwashing aufzeigen.

 
Startup meets Artist

Die folgenden Projekte nehmen an dem Kooperationsprogramm für gemeinsame Startup- und Künstlerteams teil:

Blind Spots. Ein interaktiver Audiowalk, der sich dynamisch an die sich ändernden Parameter der realen Welt anpasst. Er konzentriert sich auf kognitive Voreingenommenheit und darauf, wie sie uns anfällig für Fehlinformationen und Manipulation macht. Der Audiowalk lenkt die Aufmerksamkeit des Publikums auf das Ausmaß, in dem kognitive Voreingenommenheit ihren Alltag prägt.

Dark Listening: Deconstructing Coercive Content Discovery in Music. Identitäten - wie Musik - sollten entdeckt und nicht zugewiesen werden. Ein Unternehmen, das sein Geld mit Werbung verdient, profitiert von einem Kundenstamm, der genau in algorithmische Kästchen passt, die sich leicht mit Werbung und kulturellen Botschaften ansprechen lassen.

Dataware. Dataware ist ein Tool zur Sensibilisierung für Daten und eine Kunstinstallation, die als Initiative zur Sensibilisierung für die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels im städtischen Kontext durch das Medium der Datenkunst konzipiert wurde. Diese Bewusstseinsbildung richtet sich an die sozial und wirtschaftlich am stärksten benachteiligten Gruppen von Bürgern, um die Risiken zu verringern, die sich aus den Auswirkungen extremer Wetterereignisse ergeben.

Head Radio. Das Projekt befasst sich mit der Herausforderung der Online-Falsch- und Desinformation, indem es eine pädagogische Erfahrung in Form eines Brettspiels schafft. Das Ziel ist es, Engagement und Empathie durch Gamification und Storytelling zu erreichen, anstatt trockene Fakten und Zahlen zu präsentieren.

I (be)come. Eine Online-Theateraufführung, mit der das Publikum interagieren kann, indem es polarisierende Schieberegler mit Aussagen verwendet, aus denen es wählen kann. Das Ziel ist es, zu betonen, wie wir sowohl kollektiv als auch individuell (in den Händen der KI-Datenanalyse) an der Veränderung von Online-Medieninhalten teilnehmen.

Ekometic DUBB-E. Technologie- und Kunstprojekt, das auf der Idee basiert, dass Daten ein formbares Material sind, das in eine Vielzahl von Medien jenseits der konventionellen, stummen Darstellungen wie Diagramme, Karten, Grafiken und statische Bilder im Allgemeinen umgewandelt und umgestaltet werden kann.

Faking News: video discussions about post-truth. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, hinter die Kulissen von Fake News und Fehlinformationen zu blicken, indem es eine Vielzahl von Akteuren in interaktiven Videodiskussionen zusammenbringt. Es bezieht Künstler, Wissenschaftler, Medienexperten, Politiker und die breite Öffentlichkeit ein, um Post-Wahrheitserzählungen zu analysieren und gemeinsam Mikro-Mockumentaries für Bildungszwecke zu entwickeln.

Metagraffiti. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden großformatige digitale Kunstwerke erstellt und positioniert, die mit Hilfe der Augmented-Reality-Technologie erlebt werden können: Die Kunstwerke erscheinen, wenn 5 ausgewählte Gebäude in europäischen Städten, in denen sich Medien/Neue Medien befinden, mit einem Smartphone gescannt werden.

RELU – dancing with REaL and Unreal. Dieses Projekt sieht die immersive und virtuelle Medientechnologie als eine Möglichkeit, gegen Desinformation, falsche Darstellung und Stigmatisierung von Behinderung in den Mainstream-Medien vorzugehen, indem Hindernisse für den Zugang und die Sichtbarkeit sowohl für körperlich behinderte als auch für neurodiverse Menschen beseitigt werden.

“SOMEONE MUST HAVE BEEN TELLING LIES…”. Das Projekt wird gegen Fehlinformationen und Desinformation vorgehen, indem es Wege für marginalisierte Menschen und Gemeinschaften schafft, Daten zu finden, zu erstellen und zu nutzen, um die Macht der Gemeinschaft zu stärken.