Skip to main content
Global cooperation on the road to personalised medicine
Krebskrankes Kind uns Ärztin

Every person is unique. In the field of medicine, too, therefore, there is not always one universal solution for everyone. Since May 2020, excellent researchers from all over the world have been working together with colleagues from Leibniz Universität, Hannover Medical School (MHH) and European partner institutes in the Leibniz Future Laboratory for Artificial Intelligence (LeibnizAILab) to develop intelligent, reliable and responsible systems for personalised medicine. The Future Lab is based at the L3S research centre. "By tailoring prevention, diagnostics and therapy to individual needs, we put the focus on the individual patient," says Dr Megha Khosla, project manager of the LeibnizAILab. The researchers involved have started by examining data on three diseases: Breast cancer, psychiatric diseases and leukemia. 

In the breast cancer project, computer scientists from the L3S are working together with the gynaecologist Prof. Tjoung-Won Park-Simon and the biochemist Dr. Thilo Dörk-Bousset from the Women's Clinic of the MHH to identify factors for the success of therapy in patients diagnosed with breast cancer.  In particular, the scientists want to find out whether there is a connection with socio-economic aspects such as education and migration background. In addition, they want to investigate in which patients the individual forms of therapy are successful and in which they are not. AI methods should help to identify corresponding subgroups on the basis of the patient data in order to enable a targeted, personalised therapy.   

The main topics of the "Big Data in Psychiatric Disorders" project include schizophrenia and neurodegenerative diseases. Together with Prof. Dr. Helge Frieling from the Department of Psychiatry, Social Psychiatry and Psychotherapy at the MHH, the researchers from the LeibnizAILab are examining the genetic information of around 50,000 patients who have been diagnosed with schizophrenia. The aim is to identify possible subtypes of the disease. In addition, the researchers are focusing on identifying markers for certain neurodegenerative diseases in patients with old-age depression.   

In the "Big Data in ALL" project, the researchers are looking at acute lymphoblastic leukaemia (ALL), the most common form of childhood leukaemia. The LeibnizAILab is working together with PD Dr. Anke Bergmann from the Institute of Human Genetics (MHH) to optimise diagnostic and prognostic markers for ALL in children. The marker analyses are carried out with a large data set that combines diverse genetic information with clinical data. The main goal: to predict predisposition, clinical course, therapy success and relapse probability with the help of artificial intelligence. This knowledge enables targeted therapy, whereby the side effects and long-term consequences can be kept as low as possible on an individual basis.   

LeibnizAILab is also leading the way in building a community of researchers from artificial intelligence, biology, medicine and other disciplines to answer common questions about health and medicine. The first workshop of the Future Lab was held online on 10 and 11 June 2021 on the topic of "Harnessing Big Data for Precision Medicine and Healthcare" and attracted more than 100 active participants from all over the world with excellent speakers and presentations. The presentations of the workshop can be viewed on the L3S Youtube channel.

leibniz-ai-lab.de  

 

Contact: 

 Dr Megha Khosla

 Dr Megha Khosla  

 khosla@L3S.de  

 Megha Khosla is a senior researcher at L3S and project manager of the LeibnizAILab

Direkt zum Inhalt
Globale Kooperation auf dem Weg zur personalisierten Medizin
Krebskrankes Kind uns Ärztin

Jeder Mensch ist einzigartig. Auch im Bereich der Medizin gibt es daher nicht immer die eine allgemeingültige Lösung für jeden. Seit Mai 2020 arbeiten im Leibniz-Zukunftslabor für Künstliche Intelligenz (LeibnizAILab) exzellente Forscher aus aller Welt mit Kollegen der Leibniz Universität, der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover (MHH) und europäischer Partnerinstitute zusammen, um intelligente, zuverlässige und verantwortungsvolle Systeme für die personalisierte Medizin zu entwickeln. Das Zukunftslabor ist am Forschungszentrum L3S angesiedelt. „Indem wir Prävention, Diagnostik und Therapie auf die individuellen Bedürfnisse abstimmen, stellen wir den einzelnen Patienten in den Mittelpunkt“, sagt Dr. Megha Khosla, Projektleiterin des LeibnizAILab. Die beteiligten Forscher haben mit der Untersuchung von Daten zu drei Krankheiten begonnen: Brustkrebs, psychiatrische Erkrankungen und Leukämie. 

Im Brustkrebs-Projekt arbeiten Informatiker des L3S zusammen mit der Gynäkologin Prof. Tjoung-Won Park-Simon und dem Biochemiker Dr. Thilo Dörk-Bousset von der Frauenklinik der MHH daran, Faktoren für den Therapieerfolg bei Patientinnen mit der Diagnose Brustkrebs zu identifizieren.  Die Wissenschaftler wollen insbesondere herausfinden, ob ein Zusammenhang mit sozioökonomischen Aspekten wie Bildung und Migrationshintergrund besteht. Außerdem wollen sie erforschen, bei welchen Patientinnen die einzelnen Therapieformen erfolgreich sind und bei welchen nicht. KI-Methoden sollen helfen, anhand der Patientendaten entsprechende Untergruppen zu identifizieren, um eine gezielte, personalisierte Therapie zu ermöglichen.  

Zu den Schwerpunktthemen des Projekts "Big Data in Psychiatric Disorders" gehören Schizophrenie und neurodegenerative Erkrankungen. Gemeinsam mit Prof. Dr. Helge Frieling von der Klinik für Psychiatrie, Sozialpsychiatrie und Psychotherapie der MHH untersuchen die Forscher des LeibnizAILabs die genetischen Informationen von rund 50.000 Patienten, die die Diagnose Schizophrenie erhalten haben. Ziel ist es, mögliche Subtypen der Krankheit ausfindig zu machen. Außerdem konzentrieren sich die Forscher darauf, Marker für bestimmte neurodegenerative Erkrankungen bei Patienten mit Altersdepression zu identifizieren.  

Im Projekt "Big Data in ALL" befassen sich die Forscher mit der akuten lymphoblastischen Leukämie (ALL), der häufigsten Form der Leukämie im Kindesalter. Das LeibnizAILab arbeitet gemeinsam mit PD Dr. Anke Bergmann vom Institut für Humangenetik (MHH) daran, diagnostische und prognostische Marker für ALL bei Kindern zu optimieren. Die Markeranalysen werden mit einem großen Datensatz durchgeführt, der vielfältige genetische Informationen mit klinischen Daten kombiniert. Das Hauptziel: die Vorhersage von Veranlagung, klinischem Verlauf, Therapieerfolg und Rückfallwahrscheinlichkeit mit Hilfe künstlicher Intelligenz. Dieses Wissen ermöglicht eine gezielte Therapie, wobei die Nebenwirkungen und Langzeitfolgen individuell so gering wie möglich gehalten werden können.  

Das LeibnizAILab ist auch führend beim Aufbau einer Gemeinschaft von Forschern aus den Bereichen künstliche Intelligenz, Biologie, Medizin und anderer Disziplinen, um gemeinsame Fragen zu Gesundheit und Medizin zu beantworten. Der erste Workshop des Zukunftslabors fand am 10. und 11. Juni 2021 online zum Thema "Harnessing Big Data for Precision Medicine and Healthcare" statt und zog mit exzellenten Referenten und Vorträgen mehr als 100 aktive Teilnehmer aus aller Welt an. Die Vorträge des Workshops sind auf dem YouTube Kanal des L3S verfügbar.

 

leibniz-ai-lab.de 

 

Kontakt:

 Dr Megha Khosla

 Dr. Megha Khosla 

 khosla@L3S.de 

 Megha Khosla ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am L3S   und Projektleiterin des LeibnizAILabs