Skip to main content
Corona: Collecting data for predictive models

Politicians around the world are currently trying to contain the corona virus by, among other things, severely restricting the freedom of movement. The progression of an epidemic is influenced by numerous factors. Scientists are therefore called upon to develop new prediction models for the spread of the virus. The models are based on data - for example on case and test numbers or on the mobility of the population. SoBigData, the European research infrastructure for big data and social mining, has launched numerous activities to collect and analyse recently published data on the epidemic - including news, tweets and publicly available data sets.

One of the main efforts is focused on collecting data for the "Epidemic Datathon", which colleagues from ETH Zurich are currently organising. Participants from all over the world are invited to develop models based on publicly available data. The aim of the Datathon is to better understand the dynamics of the epidemic. The term "Datathon" is derived from "Hackathon" and refers to a challenge in which participants use data to find new solutions to existing problems within a short period of time.

Participants can verify the accuracy of the predictions several times after a few days and weeks using real data, for example by comparing the predicted number of infected people in a country with the actual number of cases. This enables them to determine which of their models are most effective.

www.sobigdata.eu

www.epidemicdatathon.com

 

Contact:

Prof. Dr. Avishek Anand

anand@L3S.de

L3S member Avishek Anand is project manager for SoBigData at L3S.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Corona: Daten sammeln für Vorhersagemodelle

Politiker auf der ganzen Welt versuchen derzeit, das Coronavirus einzudämmen, indem sie unter anderem die Bewegungsfreiheit stark einschränken. Das Fortschreiten einer Epidemie wird von zahlreichen Faktoren beeinflusst. Deshalb sind Wissenschaftler aufgefordert, neue Vorhersagemodelle für die Ausbreitung des Virus zu entwickeln. Die Grundlage für die Modelle sind Daten - zum Beispiel zu Fall- und Testzahlen oder zur Mobilität der Bevölkerung. SoBigData, die europäische Forschungsinfrastruktur für Big Data und Social Mining, hat zahlreiche Aktivitäten gestartet, um kürzlich veröffentlichte Daten rund um die Epidemie zu sammeln und zu analysieren - darunter Nachrichten, Tweets und öffentlich zugängliche Datensätze.

Eine der Hauptanstrengungen konzentriert sich auf das Sammeln von Daten für den "Epidemic Datathon", den Kollegen der ETH Zürich zurzeit organisieren. Teilnehmer aus aller Welt sind aufgerufen, Modelle auf der Basis öffentlich zugänglicher Daten zu entwickeln. Ziel des Datathons ist es, die Dynamik der Epidemie besser zu verstehen. Der Begriff „Datathon“ ist von „Hackathon“ abgeleitet und bezieht sich auf eine Herausforderung, bei der die Teilnehmer Daten nutzen, um innerhalb kurzer Zeit neue Lösungen für bestehende Probleme zu finden.

Die Teilnehmer können die Richtigkeit der Vorhersagen nach einigen Tagen und Wochen anhand realer Daten mehrfach verifizieren, zum Beispiel indem sie die vorausgesagte Zahl der Infizierten in einem Land mit der tatsächlichen Zahl der Fälle vergleichen. So können sie feststellen, welche ihrer Modelle am wirksamsten sind.

www.sobigdata.eu

www.epidemicdatathon.com

 

Kontakt:

Prof. Dr. Avishek Anand

anand@L3S.de

L3S-Mitglied Avishek Anand ist Projektleiter für SoBigData am L3S.