Skip to main content
Corona: Fast, reliable and efficient testing

The infection control measures of the last few weeks have so far prevented the rapid spread of the Sars-CoV2 virus in Germany. In order to further contain the virus, researchers from Hanover want to establish an efficient and cost-effective test system: mobile corona analysis (MCA). This system will be used to test large numbers (more than 1000 per day) of system-relevant people. Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH) is coordinating the interdisciplinary research consortium, which also includes the Lower Saxony Centre for Biomedical Engineering, Implant Research and Development (NIFE) and the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media (HMTMH) with experts in journalism and communication. The Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture is funding the model project.

How is the screening going?

The process comprises three steps: In mobile test centers (converted shipping containers), medically trained personnel perform a throat swab on the test subject. The genetic material (RNA) of the sample is isolated directly in the container and then transported to external laboratories as non-infectious material. In the laboratory, the RNA is converted into DNA and the genetic material is amplified by PCR. If the DNA from the corona virus can be amplified, the detection of the virus is positive. Positive results from screening are confirmed diagnostically by certified laboratories and reported to the local health authority. The test person is requested to go into domestic quarantine.

MCA-Teststation
Mobile Teststation

 

With the help of an interactive database and a digitally supported laboratory infrastructure, the samples can be tracked throughout the entire process. Individual data on risk exposure and concomitant diseases are also recorded digitally - taking into account ethical and legal aspects from consent to the processing of personal data. L3S member Prof. Dr. Holger Blume and his colleagues at the Institute of Microelectronic Systems have developed the EDP concept - from data input, data storage and encryption to the planning of the complete hardware.

In the two-stage system, the corona virus can be detected within six to eight hours. Until now, several days have been necessary for this. Parallel testing for influenza viruses can be carried out in order to effectively allocate and stratify patients. Medical personnel can be tested regularly and can also be reassigned when in contact with corona patients. In the case of persons who test positive and report this to the public health department, a serological immunity test will also be carried out during the course of the project. For production companies, the test could enable a faster and safer resumption of production and thus help to minimize economic damage. In addition, the mobile test centre will make an important contribution against overloading the clinics and help to reduce the risk of transmission in hospitals.

The project aims to establish a model scalable infrastructure that can be quickly transferred to other locations in Lower Saxony and beyond. In the first phase, two model locations at NIFE/MHH and LUH are initially planned, with further locations being successively added in the course of the project. In the first phase, about 100 persons per day and test site can be tested; in the medium to long term, 200 tests per day are planned.

MCA
The MCA test procedure

 

Contact:

Prof. Dr. Holger Blume
Blume@L3S.de

L3S member Holger Blume is head of the Department of Architectures and Systems at the Institute of Microelectronic Systems (IMS-AS) at LUH.  

 

Prof. Dr. Stefanie Heiden
stefanie.heiden@ite.unihannover.de

Stefanie Heiden is head of the project "Mobile Corona Analytics" and professor at the Institute for Innovation Research, Technology Management & Entrepreneurship.


Prof. Dr. Thomas Scheper
scheper@iftc.uni-hannover.de

Thomas Scheper is managing director of the Institute of Technical Chemistry at Leibniz Universität Hannover and deputy project manager of "Mobile Corona Analysis".

Direkt zum Inhalt
Corona: Schnell, zuverlässig und effizient testen

Die Infektionsschutzmaßnahmen der letzten Wochen haben die rasante Ausbreitung des Sars-CoV2-Virus in Deutschland bislang verhindert. Um das Virus weiter einzudämmen, wollen hannoversche Forscher ein effizientes und kostengünstiges Testsystem etablieren: die Mobile Corona-Analytik (MCA). Damit sollen gezielt systemrelevante Personen in großer Zahl (mehr als 1000 pro Tag) getestet werden. Die Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH) koordiniert das interdisziplinäre Forschungskonsortium, an dem auch das Niedersächsische Zentrum für Biomedizintechnik, Implantat-Forschung und -Entwicklung (NIFE) sowie die Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover (HMTMH) mit Fachleuten für Journalistik und Kommunikation beteiligt sind. Das Niedersächsische Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur fördert das Modellprojekt.

Wie verläuft das Screening?

Der Prozess umfasst drei Schritte: In mobilen Testzentren (umgebaute Schiffscontainer) führt medizinisch geschultes Personal bei der Testperson einen Rachenabstrich durch. Das Erbgut (RNA) der Probe wird direkt im Container isoliert und anschließend als nicht-infektiöses Material an externe Labore transportiert. Im Labor wird die RNA in DNA umgewandelt und das Erbmaterial mittels PCR amplifiziert. Lässt sich die DNA aus dem Corona-Virus vervielfältigen, ist der Nachweis auf das Virus positiv. Positive Ergebnisse aus dem Screening werden diagnostisch über zertifizierte Labore bestätigt und dem lokalen Gesundheitsamt gemeldet. Die Testperson wird aufgefordert sich in häusliche Quarantäne zu begeben.

MCA_Container
Mobile Teststation

Mithilfe einer interaktiven Datenbank und einer digital unterstützten Laborinfrastruktur lassen sich die Proben über den gesamten Prozess verfolgen. Auch individuelle Daten zu Risikoexposition und Begleiterkrankungen werden digital erfasst – unter Berücksichtigung ethischer und rechtlicher Aspekte von der Einwilligung bis zur Verarbeitung der persönlichen Daten. L3S-Mitglied Prof. Dr. Holger Blume hat mit seinen Mitarbeitern am Institut für Mikroelektronische Systeme das EDV-Konzept entwickelt - von der Eingabe der Daten, der Datenhaltung und der Verschlüsselung bis hin zur Planung der kompletten Hardware.

In dem zweistufigen System kann das Corona-Virus innerhalb von sechs bis acht Stunden nachgewiesen werden. Bisher sind dafür mehrere Tage notwendig. Auf Influenzaviren kann parallel getestet werden, um Patienten effektiv zuordnen und stratifizieren zu können. Medizinisches Personal kann regelmäßig getestet und auch bei Kontakt mit Corona-Patienten wiedereingesetzt werden. Bei positiv getesteten und dem Gesundheitsamt gemeldeten Personen wird im Verlauf des Projekts auch eine serologische Immunitätsuntersuchung erfolgen. Für Produktionsbetriebe könnte der Test eine schnellere und sichere Wiederaufnahme der Produktion ermöglichen und somit helfen wirtschaftlichen Schaden zu minimieren. Darüber hinaus leistet das mobile Testzentrum einen wichtigen Beitrag gegen die Überlastung der Kliniken und hilft das Übertragungsrisiko in den Krankenhäusern zu mindern.

Mit dem Projekt soll eine modellhafte skalierbare Infrastruktur etabliert werden, die schnell auf andere Standorte in Niedersachsen und darüber hinaus übertragbar ist. In der ersten Phase sind zunächst zwei Modellstandorte am NIFE/MHH sowie an der LUH geplant, im Verlauf des Vorhabens werden dann sukzessive weitere Standorte aufgebaut. In der ersten Phase können etwa 100 Personen pro Tag und Test-Stand getestet werden; mittel- bis langfristig sind 200 Nachweise pro Tag anvisiert.

Mobile Corona-Analytik
Mobile Corona-Analytik: das Testverfahren

 

Kontakt:

Prof. Dr. Holger Blume

Blume@L3S.de

L3S-Mitglied Holger Blume leitet das Fachgebiet Architekturen und Systeme am Institut für Mikroelektronische Systeme (IMS-AS) der LUH.  

 

Prof. Dr. Stefanie Heiden

stefanie.heiden@ite.unihannover.de

Stefanie Heiden ist Leiterin des Projekts »Mobile Corona-Analytik« und Professorin am Institut für Innovations-Forschung, Technologie-Management & Entrepreneurship.


Prof. Dr. Thomas Scheper

scheper@iftc.uni-hannover.de

Thomas Scheper ist geschäftsführender Leiter des Instituts für Technische Chemie der Leibniz Universität Hannover und stellvertretender Projektleiter der  „Mobilen Corona-Analytik“