Skip to main content
Man vs. machine: Where was the photo taken?

Innovative method for geolocalizationA photo showing the skyline of a large city against a grey sky, with water in the foreground: Which city is that?  In Geolocation Estimation, man and machine compete against each other and estimate where the photo was taken. The result: Seattle. In most cases, the computer wins - thanks to artificial intelligence.

The procedure for locating the place where photos were taken was developed by the Visual Analytics research group (headed by Prof. Dr. Ralph Ewerth) of the TIB - Leibniz Information Centre for Technology and Natural Sciences. A machine learning procedure based on so-called neural networks uses context-related information of the scene depicted in addition to geographical features to estimate the location of the images. Thus, the neural network acquires the ability to learn specific geographic features for different scenarios. "In the case of city impressions, for example, these are buildings or architectural details; in nature photographs, plants and animals are taken into account," says Prof. Dr. Ewerth, describing the process.

In estimating the location of the shot, the machine is demonstrably better than man. And although the Hanoverian scientists have fed their system with less training data, it already provides better and more accurate data than corresponding systems from Google researchers.

TIB Director and L3S member Prof. Dr. Sören Auer aims to develop this innovative geolocation method into a TIB web service in the medium term. "Such a service would make it easier to find images in memory institutions such as libraries and archives worldwide," says Auer.

You can even compete against the computer in the browser-based demonstration: https://labs.tib.eu/geoestimation

 

As a hands-on exhibit in the Deutsches Museum Bonn and on the MS Wissenschaft

In spring 2020, the geolocation tool will be on display as a hands-on exhibit to visitors at an exhibition on artificial intelligence (AI) at the Deutsches Museum in Bonn. Already in 2019 the exhibit was part of the exhibition "Artificial Intelligence" on the exhibition ship MS Wissenschaft in many German and Austrian cities.

 

CONTACT

Prof. Dr. Ralph Ewerth

ewerth@L3S.de

L3S member Ralph Ewerth is Professor at the Institute of Distributed Systems - Knowledge-based Systems Department of Leibniz University Hannover and heads the Visual Analytics research group of the TIB. He researches visual analysis, search and presentation methods.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Mensch vs. Maschine: Wer erkennt den Aufnahmeort eines Fotos

Innovatives Verfahren zur Geolokalisierung

 

Ein Foto, das die Skyline einer Großstadt vor grauem Himmel zeigt, im Vordergrund Wasser: Welche Stadt ist das?  Bei der Geolocation Estimation treten Mensch und Maschine gegeneinander an und schätzen, wo das Foto aufgenommen wurde. Das Ergebnis: Seattle. Meist gewinnt der Computer - dank künstlicher Intelligenz.

Das Verfahren zur Lokalisierung des Aufnahmeortes von Fotos hat die Forschungsgruppe Visual Analytics (Leitung Prof. Dr. Ralph Ewerth) der TIB – Leibniz-Informationszentrum Technik und Naturwissenschaften entwickelt. Ein maschinelles Lernverfahren auf Basis sogenannter neuronaler Netze nutzt zur Schätzung des Aufnahmeortes von Bildern neben geographischen Merkmalen zusätzlich kontextbezogene Informationen der abgebildeten Szene. Damit erlangt das neuronale Netz die Fähigkeit, für unterschiedliche Szenarien spezifische geographische Merkmale zu erlernen. „Bei Stadtimpressionen sind das etwa Bauwerke oder architektonische Details, bei Naturaufnahmen werden Pflanzen und Tiere berücksichtigt“, beschreibt Prof. Dr. Ewerth das Verfahren.

Bei der Schätzung des Aufnahmeortes ist die Maschine nachweislich besser als der Mensch. Und obwohl die hannoverschen Wissenschaftler ihr System mit weniger Trainingsdaten gefüttert haben, liefert es schon jetzt bessere und genauere Daten als entsprechende Systeme von Google-Forschern.

TIB-Direktor und L3S-Miglied Prof. Dr. Sören Auer hat das Ziel, dieses innovative Verfahren zur Geolokalisierung mittelfristig zu einem Web-Dienst der TIB zu entwickeln. „Mit einem solchen Dienst könnten Bilder in Gedächtnisinstitutionen wie Bibliotheken und Archiven weltweit besser gefunden werden“, sagt Auer.

Selbst gegen den Computer antreten kann man übrigens bei der browserbasierten Demonstration: https://labs.tib.eu/geoestimation

 
Als Mitmach-Exponat im Deutschen Museum Bonn und auf der MS Wissenschaft

Im Frühjahr 2020 wird das Geolokalisierungstool als Mitmach-Exponat Besuchern im Rahmen einer Ausstellung zum Thema Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) im Deutschen Museum Bonn einen Einblick in die Forschung zu KI bieten. Bereits 2019 war das Exponat Teil der Ausstellung „Künstliche Intelligenz“ auf dem Ausstellungsschiff MS Wissenschaft in vielen deutschen und österreichischen Städten zu sehen.

 

KONTAKT

Prof. Dr. Ralph Ewerth

ewerth@L3S.de

L3S-Mitglied Ralph Ewerth ist Professor am Institut für Verteilte Systeme – Fachgebiet Wissensbasierte Systeme der Leibniz Universität Hannover und leitet die Forschungsgruppe Visual Analytics der TIB. Er forscht zu visuellen Analyse-, Such- und Präsentationsverfahren.