Skip to main content
Future Lab: Artificial intelligence - globally connected

Scientific excellence thrives on the exchange with the best in the world: In the "International Leibniz Future Laboratory for Artificial Intelligence", outstanding scientists from all over the world will conduct research at the L3S in Hannover from summer 2020.

The Future Laboratory, which is funded by the Federal Ministry of Research, works on current research and development issues in the field of artificial intelligence (AI). Eight professors from Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, India and California, five professors from L3S and Hannover Medical School and 20 doctoral students will spend three years researching new topics in the field of artificial intelligence (AI) and also developing intelligent solutions for the application area of personalized medicine. Personalized therapies, drugs tailored to the individual patient and more precise diagnoses - this is what personalized medicine is supposed to achieve. For this, huge amounts of data have to be processed and analyzed.

The research of the Future Laboratory located at L3S focuses on new approaches and algorithms for intelligent, reliable and responsible systems. The interdisciplinary research team integrates a variety of approaches that are relevant to AI.  Intelligence is enabled by knowledge graphs, deep learning, sensor fusion and scene interpretation, probabilistic methods and information extraction from the web. Reproducibility and robustness of the processes are as important as Privacy by Design. And finally, results of intelligent systems should be explainable, fair and attributable.

The Leibniz Future Laboratory wants to establish itself in Germany as one of the central contacts for artificial intelligence and its application in the field of personalized medicine. Together with national and international partners, the Future Lab will therefore carry out a large number of cooperative research and innovation projects with scientists from Leibniz University and Hannover Medical School.

                                                                                                                                        

International Future Laboratories

International cooperation makes top-level research possible: The "Future Laboratories", funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), bring together researchers from all over the world to work on the future of artificial intelligence (AI). The International Future Laboratories create an outstanding innovation space for top executives from science and industry - from Germany and the world - who want to put "AI Made in Germany" into practice and establish it as an internationally recognized brand. More information: https://www.bmbf.de/de/internationale-zukunftslabore-8021.html

 

Contact

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Nejdl

Director of the Research Center L3S

nejdl@L3S.de

Direkt zum Inhalt
Zukunftslabor: Künstliche Intelligenz – weltweit vernetzt

Wissenschaftliche Exzellenz lebt vom Austausch mit den weltweit Besten: Im  „Internationalen Leibniz-Zukunftslabor Künstliche Intelligenz“ forschen ab dem Sommer 2020 herausragende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus der ganzen Welt am L3S in Hannover.

Das vom Bundesforschungsministerium geförderte Zukunftslabor arbeitet zu aktuellen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsfragen der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI). Acht Professorinnen und Professoren aus Australien, Neuseeland, Singapur, Indien und Kalifornien, fünf Professoren des L3S und der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover sowie 20 Promotionsstudierende erforschen drei Jahre lang neue Themen im Bereich Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) und entwickeln auch intelligente Lösungen für den Anwendungsbereich der personalisierten Medizin. Individuelle Therapien, auf den einzelnen Patienten abgestimmte Medikamente und präzisere Diagnosen – das soll personalisierte Medizin leisten. Dafür müssen riesige Datenmengen verarbeitet und analysiert werden.

Im Mittelpunkt der Forschung des am L3S angesiedelten Zukunftslabors stehen neue Ansätze und Algorithmen für intelligente, zuverlässige und verantwortungsbewusste Systeme. Das interdisziplinäre Forschungsteam integriert eine Vielzahl von Ansätzen, die für KI relevant sind.  Intelligenz wird ermöglicht durch Wissensgraphen, Deep Learning, Sensorfusion und Szeneninterpretation, probabilistische Verfahren und Informationsextraktion aus dem Web. Reproduzierbarkeit und Robustheit der Verfahren sind ebenso wichtig wie Privacy by Design. Und schließlich sollen Ergebnisse intelligenter Systeme erklärbar, fair und zurechenbar sein.

Das Leibniz-Zukunftslabor will sich in Deutschland als einer der zentralen Ansprechpartner für künstliche Intelligenz und ihrer Anwendung im Bereich der personalisierten Medizin etablieren. Gemeinsam mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern wird das Zukunftslabor daher eine Vielzahl kooperativer Forschungs- und Innovationsprojekte mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern der Leibniz Universität und der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover durchführen.

 

Internationale Zukunftslabore

Internationale Kooperation ermöglicht Spitzenforschung: Die vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderten „Zukunftslabore" bringen Forscherinnen und Forscher aus aller Welt zu Zukunftsfragen der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) zusammen. Für Spitzenkräfte aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft – aus Deutschland und der Welt – wird mit den Internationalen Zukunftslaboren ein herausragender Innovationsraum geschaffen, der „KI Made in Germany“ in die Anwendung bringen und als international anerkannte Marke etablieren will. Mehr Infos: https://www.bmbf.de/de/internationale-zukunftslabore-8021.html

 

Kontakt

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Nejdl

Direktor des Forschungszentrums L3S

nejdl@L3S.de