Skip to main content
Responsible algorithms for intelligent mobility

Creating sustainable and reliable forms of mobility is one of the central challenges of our time. Artificial intelligence (AI) plays a decisive role in this. In three new research projects, L3S scientists are working together with Volkswagen AG and other partners to develop AI algorithms for intelligent mobility that make traffic safer and more efficient. The necessary mobility data is provided by the vehicles and smartphones of road users. Therefore, data protection and compliance with legal requirements play a particularly important role in the development of AI algorithms.

 

In the CampaNeo project, the partners are developing an open platform that companies or public authorities can use for the collection and analysis of vehicle data in real time. Since blanket consent to vehicle data use is no longer in conformity with the law, the data is collected in so-called campaigns, for example to map potholes in a city. The data controller must explicitly consent to participation in a campaign. The CampaNeo platform then ensures that the data is not used for other purposes.

 

In the smashHit project, an infrastructure for the analysis of mobility data is being developed which can answer the question of who used their data and for what purposes. Furthermore, the project partners are developing algorithms to detect unauthorized use of the data.

 

The establishment of a nationwide infrastructure for all types of electric vehicles is an essential prerequisite for the turnaround in electric mobility. Digital services are intended to ensure the supply of electricity to electric transport users even in the event of local bottlenecks and increased demand. In the d-E-mand project, L3S, VW and other partners are developing models that can estimate the charging requirements of electric vehicles. The AI methods used learn from GPS and other decentrally collected vehicle data.

 

https://www.l3s.de/de/projects/campaneo

https://www.l3s.de/de/projects/smashhit

https://www.l3s.de/de/projects/d-e-mand

 

Contact:

Dr. Elena Demidova

demidova@L3S.de

Elena Demidova is group leader at L3S and researches in the areas of AI, data analytics and mobility.

 

Nicolas Tempelmeier, M. Sc.

tempelmeier@L3S.de

Nicolas Tempelmeier is a PhD student at L3S and project manager for Campaneo and d-e-mand. He is researching the use of AI algorithms in connection with spatio-temporal data, especially in the field of mobility.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Verantwortungsvolle Algorithmen für intelligente Mobilität

Die Schaffung nachhaltiger und verlässlicher Mobilitätsformen ist eine der zentralen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) spielt dabei eine entscheidende Rolle. In drei neuen Forschungsprojekten arbeiten Wissenschaftler des L3S gemeinsam mit der Volkswagen AG und weiteren Partnern daran, KI-Algorithmen für eine intelligente Mobilität zu entwickeln, die den Verkehr sicherer und effizienter machen. Die dafür notwendigen Mobilitätsdaten liefern die Fahrzeuge und Smartphones der Verkehrsteilnehmer. Daher spielen der Datenschutz und die Einhaltung der gesetzlichen Vorgaben bei der Entwicklung von KI-Algorithmen eine besonders große Rolle.

Im Projekt CampaNeo entwickeln die Partner eine offene Plattform, die Unternehmen oder Behörden für die Erhebung und Analyse von Fahrzeugdaten in Echtzeit nutzen können. Da eine pauschale Einwilligung in die Fahrzeugdatennutzung nicht mehr gesetzeskonform ist, werden die Daten in sogenannten Kampagnen erhoben, etwa um Schlaglöcher in einer Stadt zu kartieren. Der Dateninhaber muss der Teilnahme an einer Kampagne explizit zustimmen. Die CampaNeo-Plattform stellt dann sicher, dass die Daten nicht anderweitig genutzt werden.

Im Projekt smashHit entsteht eine Infrastruktur zur Analyse von Mobilitätsdaten, die den Dateninhabern die Frage beantworten kann, von wem und für welche Zwecke ihre Daten verwendet wurden. Weiterhin entwickeln die Projektpartner Algorithmen, die eine unerlaubte Nutzung der Daten aufdecken sollen.

Für die Elektro-Mobilitätswende ist der Aufbau einer flächendeckenden Infrastruktur für alle Arten von Elektrofahrzeugen eine wesentliche Voraussetzung. Digitale Services sollen die Versorgung der Elektro-Verkehrsteilnehmer mit Strom auch bei lokalen Engpässen und erhöhtem Bedarf gewährleisten. Im Projekt d-E-mand entwickeln L3S, VW und weitere Partner Modelle, die den Ladebedarf von Elektrofahrzeugen abschätzen können. Die eingesetzten KI-Methoden lernen dabei von GPS- und anderen dezentral erhobenen Fahrzeugdaten.

https://www.l3s.de/de/projects/campaneo

https://www.l3s.de/de/projects/smashhit

https://www.l3s.de/de/projects/d-e-mand

 

Kontakt:

Dr. Elena Demidova

demidova@L3S.de

Elena Demidova ist Gruppenleiterin am L3S und forscht in den Bereichen KI, Data Analytics und Mobilität.

 

Nicolas Tempelmeier, M. Sc.

tempelmeier@L3S.de

Nicolas Tempelmeier ist Doktorand am L3S und Projektleiter für Campaneo und d-e-mand. Er forscht zur Nutzung von KI-Algorithmen in Verbindung mit räumlich-zeitlichen Daten, insbesondere im Bereich Mobilität.