Skip to main content

In the context of the 5-year ERC project ScienceGRAPH led by Prof. Sören Auer, we are looking for several Research Associates/PhD Candidate (Wissenschaftliche(r) Mitarbeiter(in)) to work in the Leibniz Joint Lab Data Science and Open Knowledge of the L3S Research Center and the TIB Research Department under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Sören Auer. Initial appointment will be for 3 years with the possibility of extension, starting as soon as possible. The candidates’ competence areas should be squarely rooted in computer science or related fields. The candidates should be able to think creatively, grasp new knowledge quickly, be able to combine abstract reasoning with concrete problem solving and be interested in mastering complex challenges. The research and development focus of these PhD positions is on innovative Semantic Web Technologies and Artificial Intelligence.

Requirements:

  • A Master’s degree in a relevant field (Computer Science, Mathematics, Information Science)

  • Proficiency in spoken and written English. Proficiency in German is a plus.

  • Excellent proficiency in modern programming languages especially Java, JavaScript and modern software engineering methodologies. Proven team software development skills.

  • Research and technology interest in Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Knowledge Representation and Reasoning, Data Management, Semantic Technologies, Web Engineering, Natural Language Processing or User Interaction.

  • Interest in digital libraries and scholarly communication as application domains and a passion for mastering and applying formal methods.

The PhD topics will be in the context of the ERC project ScienceGRAPH - Knowledge Graph based Representation, Augmentation and Exploration of Scholarly Communication. The aim of the project is to research and develop techniques for crowdsourcing, representing and managing semantically structured, rich representations of scholarly contributions in knowledge graphs and thus develop a novel model for scholarly communication.

What we offer: We provide a scientifically and intellectually inspiring environment with an entrepreneurial mindset embedded in a leading technical university and one of the largest technical information centers being part of the Leibniz research association. Our aim is to provide the environment and resources to enable the candidates to successfully complete their PhD.

  • The PhD candidates will work on the 5-year ERC Consolidator project ScienceGRAPH funded by the European Research Council led by Prof. Auer.

  • Funding is available for equipment, conference and research visit travel.

  • Qualified candidates will start in level TV-L 13 (75%) of the German public service pay-scale.

The positions start as soon as possible, are open until filled and will be granted initially for 3 years with envisioned extension. Inquiries can be directed to Prof. Dr. Sören Auer (auer@tib.eu).

How to apply: Please send your CV, a letter of reference and a motivational statement (incl. research, and technology interest) to Alexandra.Garatzogianni@tib.eu. Please do not send emails larger than 10 MB.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Im Rahmen des 5-jährigen ERC-Projektes ScienceGRAPH unter der Leitung von Prof. Sören Auer suchen wir nach mehreren wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern/PhD-Kandidaten (m/w/d) für das Leibniz Joint Lab „Datenwissenschaft und offenes Wissen“ des Forschungszentrums L3S und der Abteilung Forschung und Entwicklung der TIB, unter der Betreuung von Prof. Dr. Sören Auer. Die erstmalige Vertragsvergabe erfolgt für 3 Jahre mit der Möglichkeit der Verlängerung, beginnend so schnell wie möglich. Die Kompetenzbereiche der Kandidaten sollten sich eindeutig auf die Informatik oder verwandte Bereiche beziehen. Die Kandidaten sollten kreativ denken können, schnell neues Wissen erfassen, abstraktes Denken mit konkreter Problemlösung verbinden und an der Bewältigung komplexer Herausforderungen interessiert sein. Der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkt dieser Doktorandenstellen liegt auf innovativen Semantische Web-Technologien und künstliche Intelligenz.

Anforderungen:

  • Ein Master-Abschluss in einem relevanten Bereich (Informatik, Mathematik, Informationswissenschaften).
  • Sehr gute Englischkenntnisse in Wort und Schrift. Deutschkenntnisse sind von Vorteil.
  • Ausgezeichnete Kenntnisse in modernen Programmiersprachen, insbesondere Java, JavaScript und modernen Methoden der Softwareentwicklung. Bewährte Teamfähigkeiten in der Softwareentwicklung.
  • Forschungs- und Technologieinteresse an Künstlicher Intelligenz, Maschinelles Lernen, Wissensrepräsentation und -begründung, Datenmanagement, Semantische Technologien, Web-Engineering, Natürliche Sprachverarbeitung oder Benutzerinteraktion. 
  • Interesse an digitalen Bibliotheken und wissenschaftlicher Kommunikation als Anwendungsgebiete sowie Leidenschaft für die Beherrschung und Anwendung formaler Methoden.

Die Promotionsthemen werden im Rahmen des ERC-Projektes ScienceGRAPH, Wissensgrafikbasierte Darstellung, Erweiterung und Erforschung der wissenschaftlichen Kommunikation, behandelt. Ziel des Projektes ist es, Techniken für das Crowdsourcing zu erforschen und zu entwickeln, die semantisch strukturierte, reichhaltige Darstellungen von wissenschaftlichen Beiträgen in Wissensgrafiken darzustellen und zu verwalten und auf diese Weise ein neuartiges Modell für die wissenschaftliche Kommunikation zu entwickeln.

Was wir anbieten: Wir bieten ein wissenschaftlich und intellektuell inspirierendes Umfeld mit unternehmerischer Denkweise, eingebettet in eine führende technische Universität und eines der größten technischen Informationszentren als Teil der Leibniz-Forschungsgemeinschaft. Unser Ziel ist es, das Umfeld und die Ressourcen bereitzustellen, die es den Kandidaten ermöglichen, ihre Doktorarbeit erfolgreich abzuschließen.

  • Die Doktoranden werden an dem fünfjährigen ERC-Konsolidierungsprojekt ScienceGRAPH arbeiten, das vom Europäischen Forschungsrat unter der Leitung von Prof. Auer finanziert wird.
  • Die Finanzierung von Reisen mit Ausrüstung, Konferenzen und Forschungsbesuchen ist möglich.
  • Qualifizierte Kandidaten starten in die Stufe TV-L 13 (75%) des deutschen Tarifs für den öffentlichen Dienst.

Die Stellen beginnen so schnell wie möglich, sind bis zur Besetzung offen und werden zunächst für 3 Jahre mit vorgesehener Verlängerung vergeben. Anfragen können an Prof. Dr. Sören Auer (auer@tib.eu) gerichtet werden.

Wie man sich bewirbt: Bitte senden Sie Ihren Lebenslauf, ein Referenzschreiben und ein Motivationsschreiben (inkl. Forschung- und Technologieinteresse) an Alexandra.Garatzogianni@tib.eu. Bitte senden Sie keine E-Mails, die größer als 10 MB sind.